8 vie for Barry County University of Missouri Extension Council seats

Wednesday, January 9, 2019

The names of eight Barry County residents will be on the January ballot for election of Barry County University of Missouri Extension Council members.

Council Chairman Cody Epperly said eight county residents will be elected by districts to fill this year's vacancies. The new council begins its duties March 1, according to state law.

University of Missouri Extension offers educational programs in such categories as agriculture, home economics, business and industry, community development, youth development (4-H), and various continuing education courses, seminars and workshops. University of Missouri Extension does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, religion, age, disability or status as a Vietnam-era veteran in employment or programs.

The county extension council works with University of Missouri Extension staff members in planning and making recommendations for educational programs.

The Barry County University of Missouri Extension Council is composed of 23 members. Eighteen are elected and five represent appointments by eligible committees and farm organizations.

Any Barry County resident 18 or older is eligible to vote. Polling is at the Barry County Extension Office, located at 700 Main Suite 4 in Cassville, or online at: extension.missouri.edu/barry