Students from rural areas encouraged to apply for medical program

Saturday, May 6, 2017

Deadline for Bryant Scholars Pre-Admission Program June 1

The Lester R. Bryant Scholars Pre-Admission Program at the University of Missouri School of Medicine encourages young people from rural backgrounds to pursue a medical education. Students are eligible for admission to the program after completing their sophomore year in college at a Missouri public or independent four-year college or university.

"We would love to see southwest Missouri students represented in the applicant pool," said Kelly Risby, senior program/project support coordinator at the MU School of Medicine, Springfield clinical campus. "I am happy to help local students in any way that I can as they go through the process."

The MU School of Medicine has removed the ACT eligibility requirement for the Bryant Scholars Pre-admissions Program. Students no longer have to have a 28 or higher on the ACT to be eligible to apply.

Students are now required to submit two letters of evaluation from college professors who taught and issued them a grade. One of the two required evaluations must be from a college science professor. Students may also submit a third optional non-academic evaluation.

The application, instructions, supporting documents and eligibility requirements have been updated and are available online at

Teachers, parents or students that have questions should contact Risby at the Springfield clinical campus, 1845 S. National Avenue, Suite 100, by telephone at 417- 720-7140, or by email at In addition, they may also contact Allison Fuemmeler at 573-884-3566, or Blair Whitney at 573-884-8025.

Application deadline for the program is June 1.