Purdy High School holds Evening of Excellence

Saturday, April 8, 2017
The Aubrey Keeling Chapter of the Purdy National Honor Society welcomed 10 new members to its ranks this year. Honorees, pictured front row from left, are: Hannah Reid, Bayleigh Schad, Emma Harkey and Rylee Moller. Back row: Jose Perez; Colby Boyd; Kyler Propps; Chandler Orwig; Mason Schallert and Adam Humphrey. Contributed photo

Purdy High School celebrated its the second annual Evening of Excellence on March 31.

Superintendent Steven Chancellor described the evening as “one of my favorite events of the school year, as it perfectly reflects our district motto - Excellence is the Standard.”

Organized and hosted by Purdy High School National Honor Society Adviser Lisa Reid, the evening affords staff members the opportunity to honor students for their academic achievements and celebrate them with their families.

Bestowing individual and team accolades were Sarah Garbee and Steve Courter, Speech and Debate Coaches; Kay Wright and Ashley Brown, Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA) Advisers; Kayla Branstetter and Michelle Hilburn, National English Honor Society (NEHS) Advisers; Deborah Lay, Spanish Club Adviser and Lisa Reid, Academic Team Coach. Students earning their Academic Letters or Pins received them from Dr. Chancellor.

The program also included the annual National Honor Society Induction Ceremony, conducted by NHS President Rion Boyd and her fellow officers. Students must apply for membership in the National Honor Society. A faculty committee reviews the applications and selects each year’s inductees. The society welcomed ten new members, including Hannah Reid, Bayleigh Schad, Emma Harkey, Rylee Moller, Jose Perez, Colby Boyd, Kyler Propps, Chandler Orwig, Mason Schallert and Adam Humphrey.

The 2017 Evening of Excellence concluded with an appetizer reception in the commons area, where student work was displayed for review.