Purdy students recognized for year-end achievement

Wednesday, May 22, 2013

The Purdy R-2 School Board recognized students for their achievement during the second half of the school year. Certificates were presented to the students by board president Randy Henderson during the board's April meeting.

Seven students were recognized for qualifying for state competition in business. They included: Megan Schilly, first, accounting 2; Jayse Henderson, second, FBLA principles and procedures; Abby Parsons, second, introduction to parliamentary procedures; Taylor Reynolds and Brittany Schultz, first, business financial planning; and Esmeralda Perez and Cynthia Salas, first, marketing.

Earning I ratings for vocal solos at district music competition were: Katherine Wise, Phillip Roller, Esmeralda Perez, Bailey Spears, Kaityln Carpenter, Madison Vice, Alissa Graham and Dana Cunningham.

Earning 1 ratings as part of the men's, senior girls and mixed group vocal music contest were: Tyler Jones, Devan Keeler, Tanner Marshall, Russell Gonzalez, Nat Alden, Phillip Roller, Madison Vice, Dana Cunningham, Bailey Spears, Jacey Staponski, Taylor Reynolds, Kaitlyn Carpenter and Brittany Hayes.

Earning I ratings for an instrumental music solo was Hannah Sehrbrock on the flute. The mixed woodwind quartet of Dana Cunningham, Ashley Lowery, Randi Lowery and Brooke Farris also earned a I rating.

Advancing to state in FCCLA were: Brooke Farris in junior illustrated talk; Abi Ibarra for senior illustrated talk; Jazmine Rodriguez, Stephanie Gaucin and Crisol Aldava for senior chapter service manual; Jessica Ball and Kaylynn Harkey for senior chapter service display; Sarah Ly, Susan Vang, Tiffany Conway and Nat Alden for senior national programs in action.

Earning first place at the Ozark 7 Conference Art Show were: Kendra Hall and Mai Yang for their paintings, three won by Hall.

In girls basketball, all-conference honors went to Mattie White and Katie Hughes, first team; Desirie Ennes, second team; Billie House and Jayse Henderson, honorable mention. Mattie White was also named to the All-District first team.

In boys basketball, all-district and all-conference honors went to Cameron Terry, first team; Brent Cornman, second team. Keevin Walker was named all-conference honorable mention. Tyler Scott was named to the Miller All-Tournament team.

In FFA team competition, the knowledge team of Mikala Fletcher, Brianna Keeler, Maria Perez and Ashton Young placed fourth in regional action to qualify for state. The dairy cattle team of Abby Parsons, Andrea Humphrey, Jayse Henderson and Skylar Lakey placed sixth to qualify for state.

The FFA poultry team of Billie House, Robbie Moody, Desi Ennes and Essi Dodson took third place. The entomology team of Jacey Staponski, Kaitlin Brigman, Taylor Reynolds and Chelsea Mareth placed seventh. Both teams advanced to state.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: