LawCo 4-H recognizes members, volunteers

Friday, December 7, 2012

\Lawrence County 4-H recognized more than 170 members, volunteers and supporters of the county 4-H program at their annual recognition event, held Nov. 11 at the Southwest Center near Mt. Vernon.

"This has been a tremendous year for 4-H in Lawrence County," said Karla Deaver, 4-H youth development specialist. "We have had great activity at the county, regional, state and national level, and our members and volunteers have had amazing results. We have much to celebrate."

More than 50 volunteer leaders were recognized for their service to the program over the past year. National statistics state the average volunteer contributes 260 hours per year. Valuing their time at $17.76 per hour, based on average Missouri incomes, the contribution of Lawrence County 4-H volunteers was worth nearly $250,000 in 2012.

Two organizations were given the Friend of 4-H award, in recognition of their outstanding support of Lawrence County 4-H. The Southwest Missouri Cattlemen's Association and Missouri Beef Industry Council received the honor given annually by the 4-H Council.

"Because of the efforts of these partners, Lawrence County 4-H members are having more experiences to help them learn and gain life skills. It is because of friends like these our program is so successful," said Deaver.

Super 4-H'er awards were given to 17 members in the program. Super 4-H'ers are those who have participated in a number of club, county, regional and state events. Nineteen members were also recognized for their participation in state competitions in dairy judging, livestock judging, fashion revue, public speaking and shooting sports. Brittany Groves, of Billings, represented Lawrence County and Missouri at the National 4-H dairy judging contest held in October. Members of the Lawrence County livestock judging team represented Missouri and Lawrence County at the Ak-Sar-Ben Livestock Judging Contest in Omaha, Neb. Thirty-eight project achievement awards were also given in 16 project areas.

Recognition was also given to Joel Adams and Katie Pennell, Lawrence County 4-H members who currently serve on the State 4-H Council.

4-H Council officers for the coming year are: Alicia Wright, president; Janella Spencer, vice president; Theresa Douglas, secretary, and KayLynn Pennell, treasurer.

The new club year is underway. For more information, contact Karla Deaver at the Lawrence County Extension Center, 417-466-3102.