National police week honors fallen

Wednesday, May 16, 2012
Members of the Monett Police Department are pictured above. From left, are: SRO Jay Jastal, Lt. Greg Brandsma, Kathy Brown and Pam Compton, communications, Chief Tim Schweder, Patrol Officer Tom Jaglowitz and Animal Control Officer Glenn Palade. [Times Photo by Melonie Roberts]

National Police Week will be observed from May 13 through May 19, with thousands of police officers set to converge on Washington D.C. to honor those who have died in the line of duty.

The event, which originated with about 120 survivors in 1982, has grown to encompass a week of activities and thousands of people flocking to Washington, D.C. for the event.

Local police officials in various agencies throughout southwest Missouri will observe National Police Week.

Barry County Sheriff's Office is represented by the officers pictured above. In the front row, from left, are: Patrolman Justin Ruark, Sheriff Mick Epperly, Patrolman Steve Jabben and Det. Angela Cole. Back row: Patrolman Randy Kalbauch, Dep. Carl Casper and Det. Brian Landreth. [Times Photo by Melonie Roberts]

"It's a good way to remember our officers who have fallen in the line of duty," said Lawrence County Sheriff Brad DeLay. "It's a good reminder for the community."

A total of 644 officers have died throughout the state of Missouri, according to records dating back to 1,791 on the Officer Down Memorial Page, located at

In the bi-county area, a total of eight officers have fallen in the line of duty. They include: John Franklin Chambers, Aurora; Christopher Lee Castetter, Barry County Sheriff's Office; Elisha Lenore Hagler, night watchman for Monett Police Department; and James Dacy, J.Y. Gasche, R.J. Chappell, Simeon W. Coleman and Edgar P. Wright, all serving with the Pierce City Police Department.

Lawrence County Sheriff's Office officials are pictured above. In the front row, from left, are: Jan Norvell, administrative staff, Dep. Dawn Bruner, Reserve Mike Cooper, Dep. Felisity Cordell and Dep. John Ferguson. Second row: Anita Bloomer, administrative staff, Dep. Tim Mayes, Dep. Craig Fertig, Det. Melinda McElroy, Det. Mike Madewell, Sheriff Brad DeLay, and Dep. Josh Osterloh. Back row: Dep. Steve Vollmer, Lt. Grant Wheeler, Det. Chad Garoutte, Dep. Adam Jones, Dep. Dennis Spence, Dep. Mike Thorn, Sgt. Josh Ford and Patrolman Ryan Devost. [Times Photo by Melonie Roberts]

The 24th National Police Week candlelight vigil took place on Sunday, May 13 at the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial in Washington, D.C. The national Police Survivors' Conference took place in Alexandria, Va., on Monday, May 14. That event was followed by the National Peace Officers' Memorial Service on May 15 at the United States Capitol in Washington, D.C.

A second survivors conference is scheduled for today, May 16.

For more information, contact Concerns of Police Survivors, Inc., at or by calling 800-784-COPS (2677).

Purdy Police Department officials are pictured above. From left, are: Officer Russ Nichols and Police Chief Jackie Lowe. [Times Photo by Melonie Roberts]
Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: