FFA hosts end-of-the-year banquet

Wednesday, May 16, 2012
The Purdy FFA 2012-2013 officer team was announced and are pictured above. Chelsea Mareth, president; Kaitlyn Carpenter and Kaitlin Brigman, vice presidents; Doni Craig, secretary; Jacey Staponski, treasurer; Bailey Spears, Taylor Reynolds, reporters; Melanie Heston, chaplain; and Deana Burch, parliamentarian. Reynolds also served as sentinel.

The Purdy FFA held their annual banquet on May 5 with approximately 127 members and guest present.

The event began with a dinner followed by Kaitlyn Carpenter, president, introducing the guest speaker ,Samantha Whittaker, former Missouri State FFA vice president. Whittaker and reporter Katie Clay presented the area and state degrees.

Students receiving the area degree were: Lydia Berry, Heath Burnside, Kaitlyn Carpenter, Taylor Reynolds and Glen Scott. Students receiving the state degree, the highest degree awarded by the State FFA Association, were: Devon Bennett, Chelsea Mareth, Bailey Spears and Jacey Staponski.

Receiving the proficiency awards were: poultry production, Ashley Lowery; forage production: Alex Mareth; vegetable production: Jake Beaty; beef production: Jared Smith, Thomas Berry, Lydia Berry, Dustin Moore, and Cash Skiles; specialty animal production, Jessica Ball; equine science, Deana Burch, Doni Craig and Makayla Sullivan; scholarship, Robby Moody, Billie House, Jayse Henderson and Mathew Watson; diversified crop production, Tyler Lowery; outdoor recreation, Glen Scott; and food science and technology, Dakota Tettenhorst, Shelby Thomas, Kyle Davidson and Edith Ramirez.

Students who received the area proficiency awards were: Devon Bennett, first, landscape management; Chelsea Mareth, third, small animal production; and Stephanie Kaiser, first, agriculture sales entrepreneurship. Students who received state proficiency awards were: Devon Bennett, landscape management, and Stephanie Kaiser, agriculture sales entrepreneurship. Students who received the Greenhand degree were: Micaela Adams, Jeffery Austin, Brandon Bohanan, Zaria Carrillo, Dustin Clevenger, Kyle Davidson, Katelyn Diaz, Dawson Fulp, Jayse Henderson, Billie House, Katelyn Hughes, Brendon Lucero, Avery McCord, Robby Moody, Dustin Moore, Jaden Pancratz, Edith Ramirez, Cash Skiles, Makayla Sullivan, Jake Terry, Shelby Thomas, Mathew Watson, Thong Yang, and Lindsay Holle. The star greenhand was Makayla Sullivan.

Students who received a chapter degree were: Jessica Ball, Jake Beaty, Thomas Berry, Deana Burch, Conner Collins, Brent Cornman, Doni Craig, Colten Henderson, Jake Henderson, Melanie Heston, Dillon Lowe, Ashley Lowery, Alex Mareth, Kelton Mattingly, Nick Roppolo, Tyler Scott, Jared Smith, Kirstin Strother, Andrew Thacker, and Reese Veith.

Alex Mareth, Jared Smith and Melanie Heston received a chapter star award. Donnie Spears, Purdy FFA Alumni president, presented Devon Bennett with a $1,500 scholarship.

The contest teams were announced and metals presented. The honorary degree recipients were Donnie Spears, Tim Smith and Aaron Bowlan.