National Technical Honor Society inducted at Southwest Area Career Center

Monday, March 23, 2009

Thirty-four students attending the Southwest Area Career Center at Monett (SWACC) where recently honored by being named into the National Technical Honor Society. Students had to have a grade point average of at least 3.0 on a 4.0 scale from their home high schools to be considered, as well as earning a 3.25 grade point average at SWACC. They had to demonstrate dependability, high quality task performance, honesty, leadership, responsibility, and a desire to pursue a career in his or her course of study. Only high school seniors were considered.

An induction ceremony was held at the Career Center. SWAAC director Ted Dorton inducted the new members. Chapter sponsor Karen Brosi and culinary arts instructor Vickie Fuller handed out the certificates.

Inducted were, front row from left: Daniel Dunmire, Monett; Jacob Bower, Monett; Francisco Soriano, Monett; John Stubblefield, Monett; Jordan Stubblefield, Monett; Jacob Rogers, Mt. Vernon;

Second row: Brisa Rueda, Monett; Karina Rueda, Monett; Angelica DeLeon, Monett; Nancy Valenciano, Monett; Heidi Springston, Monett; Mikaela Hilburn, Monett; Amanda Evans, Mt. Vernon; Bobby Bible, Pierce City;

Third row: Ryan Frieze, Monett; Jeffrey Spooner, Monett; Diana Walden, Billings; Joelle Kelleher, Crane; Nina Stovall, Mt. Vernon; Lauren Sowell, Crane; Jennifer Lopez, Mt. Vernon;

Back row: Joseph Hinkle, Monett; Patricia Smith, Mt. Vernon; Sara Campbell, Monett; Ashley Thompson, Mt. Vernon; Cortny Rudick, Crane; Bianca Holloway, Monett; Brittany Gasser, Monett and Josie Vaughn, Monett.

Not shown were Uziel Franco, Cassville; Preston Locher, Monett; Corey Priester, Billings; Andrea DeLeon, Monett; and Denver Wilson, Monett.

A special plaque was presented to Crane School Superintendent Tyler Laney at left by Ted Dorton, Southwest Area Career Center director, recognizing him as an honorary member of the National Technical Honor Society. Laney has been a longtime supporter for technical and career education. A special plaque was also given to Pierce City business student Bobby Bible of Pierce City, inducting him as an honorary member.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: