Cubs’ run ends in quarterfinals

Saturday, November 14, 2020
Eduardo Trujillo drives the ball down the field for the Cubs against MICDS on Tuesday. Nancy Noll-Meyer/Special to The Monett Times

Monett falls to No. 1 team in state, 5-1

The 2020 season’s magic ran out on Tuesday for the Monett soccer team, as the Cubs fell to Mary Institute and Saint Louis Country Day (MICDS), 5-1.

They Cubs fell behind 1-0 just 11 minutes into the game and trailed 4-0 at halftime, surrendering a goal with just two seconds left in the half.

Joshua Patino clears the ball from the goal during quarterfinal action on Tuesday. Nancy Noll-Meyer/Special to The Monett Times

“They are a good team in every line on the field,” Villa said. “They knew how to attack and defend. They are a good, solid team overall, and they came in here and got the job done.”

Monett rebounded in the second half but could not get any closer than the four-goal deficit.

“I can’t be more proud of this senior class,” said Cristobal Villa, Monett Coach. “They brought this team tighter and won another district championship. Here we are playing in a state quarterfinal game. We are going to us this as motivation to come back next year and keep working hard.”

The Cubs collected their ninth straight district title and had nine players named to the all-conference team.

First Team All-Conference

Jonathan Perez (Senior) Monett

Eduardo Rodriguez (Senior) Monett

Lizandro Villa (Senior) Monett

Gage Vehr (Sophomore) Springfield Catholic

Ashton Vinton (Junior) Springfield Catholic

Keanu Baguio (Junior) Springfield Catholic

Carson Morgan (Junior) Springfield Catholic

Peyton Prenger (Senior) Logan Rogersville

Sage Ballard (Junior) Logan Rogersville

Rylen Ballard (Junior) Logan Rogersville

Joshua Patino (Senior) Monett (GK)

Second Team All-Conference

Irael Marcos (Senior) McDonald County

Carson Whittemire (Senior) Cassville

Lester Perez (Senior) Aurora

Eduardo Trujillo (Senior) Monett

Soe Reh (Senior) Monett

Da Win (Senior) Monett

Ezequial Cecenas (Junior) Monett

Alejandro Garcia (Senior) Monett

Jon Fetters (Senior) Logan Rogersville

Stewart McDonald (Freshman) Logan Rogersville

Clemente Reyes (Senior) Aurora (CO-GK)

Kobe Fisher (Senior) Logan Rogersville (CO-GK)

Honorable-Mention All-Conference

Eric Reyes (Senior) Aurora

Larson Briggs (Sophomore) Aurora

Joe Harles (Sophomore) Marshfield

Justin Hanson (Junior) Marshfield

Alexis Pedrosa (Senior) McDonald County

Camron Sloan (Senior) Cassville

Victor Lopez (Senior) McDonald County

Francisco Castro (Senior) Aurora

Hudson Aikins (Senior) Marshfield

Rian Mulherin. (Freshman) Springfield Catholic

Mathew Derecichei (Junior) Marshfield (GK)

Coach of the Year: Brett Wubbena (Logan Rogersville)

Player of the Year: Carson Morgan (Springfield Catholic)

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: