Purdy National Honor Society welcomes new members

Saturday, March 30, 2019
New members of the National Honor Society chapter at Purdy High School are pictured. Front row: Jacob Brown, Clay Henderson, Shana Whisman, Elizabeth Hoffman, Soledad Salas, Shelby Haskins, and Heather Greenway. Back row: Annabelle Bowman, Andres Aldaba, Kinsley Mattingly, Lauren Schallert, Macy Terry, Sean Thomas, and Audrey Lowe. Contributed photo

Chapter hosts academic excellence celebration

The Purdy High School National Honor Society hosted its annual Evening of Excellence on Tuesday, March 12, which included the induction of new chapter members.

The evening also featured a National English Honor Society ceremony and culminated with the districtís National Honor Society adviser Jennifer Cornelius welcomed 14 new members to the prestigious organization.

Principal Derek Banwart distributed academic letters to students who achieved membership on the A or A/B Honor Roll for three consecutive semesters. Academic and speech and debate participants were also recognized.

Purdy Future Business Leaders of America Advisers Kay Wright and Ashley Brown recognized students who ranked in the top ten at the District Leadership Conference and honored those who will be advancing to the state competition in April.