Monett Lions Club presents awards

Saturday, August 11, 2018
New Monett Lions Club members Bob and Linda Bartelsmeyer are pictured with President Tom Wormington, left, and Steve Wise, sponsor. Contributed photo

New members welcomed into service organization

Dinner, presentation of awards, induction of new members, installation of new officers and fellowship provided a memorable evening for Monett Lions Club recently.

Members and guests celebrated at the Monett Historical Society’s Event Center which was decorated with a patriotic theme in tribute to the Fourth of July holiday.

Lions Cliff Daniel and Walter Craig III pose with plaques commemorating exemplary service. Contributed photo

Steve Wise, Kidsight Board of Directors’ member, presented two coveted awards to two members for their exemplary service. Veteran Lion Cliff Daniel received the Melvin Jones Fellow award for Humanitarian Service.

Daniels accepted a plaque named in honor of the founder of Lions and shared he has always believed deeply in the service Lions give to numerous community activities and to the international sight projects. Daniels added he has always tried to do his share to help others.

Wise then presented the Leader Dogs for the Blind Award posthumously to longtime Monett Lion, Walker Craig, Jr. Craig’s son, Walker Craig III, accepted the plaque and spoke of his dad’s love of Lions work to help in the area of vision.

Incoming Lions Club President Lars Kirkland, left, accepts the presidential gavel and handshake from Tom Wormington, outgoing president, symbolizing transfer of leadership for Monett Lions. Contributed photo

Two new members were inducted by Bill Botzow. Sponsored by Lion Steve Wise, Bob Bartelsmeyer and Linda Bartelsmeyer were presented with certificates of membership and club pins. Wise pointed out that the pins are unique because they are designed specifically to commemorate the International Lions Centennial now being celebrated.

President Tom Wormington presented gifts to his board of directors as a token of his appreciation for their work during his term at the helm.

The evening concluded with the tranfer of the presidential gavel to incoming president Lars Kirkland, starting a new year for the club, which was founded in 1946.