Monett Middle School inducts 17 into National Honor Society

Saturday, October 28, 2017
Members of the Monett Middle School National Honor Society Chapter, are pictured, front row from left: Madison Williams, chapter secretary; Ahtziri Salazar, Presley Wormington, Adalyn Burton, Elsie Verhoff, Victoria Soriano, Chloe Brown and Anna Krueger. Back row: Principal Jonathan Apostol, Abigail Apostol, chapter president; Benjamin Brown, Corbin McCully, Daniel Geiss, Josue Cavazos Jr., Tyler Waterman, Daniel Ridenour, Anastasia Crouch, chapter treasurer; and Keather Bumgarner, faculty sponsor. Not pictured: Zandria Blevins, chapter vice president. Contributed photo

Ceremony recognizes academic achievement

Seventeen students from Monett Middle School were inducted as new members of the National Junior Honor Society in a ceremony held at the Performing Arts Center on Saturday, October 14. 

Members were selected due to their high achievements in scholarship, service, leadership, citizenship, and character.  

“We are beyond proud to recognize these outstanding members of our student body,” said Keather Bumgarner, chapter advisor. "National Junior Honor Society members are chosen for and then expected to continue their exemplary contributions to the school and community."

The Monett Middle School chapter has been active since 2015 and is honored to be part of one of the oldest and most prestigious national organizations for middle school students.