MHS inducts 28 into National Honor Society

Saturday, September 30, 2017
A total of 28 new members were inducted into the Monett High School Chapter of the National Honor Society on Thursday. Pictured, front row from left, are: Courtnie Velten, Mike Tsai, Garrett Gunter, Caleb Hilton, Madissen Brannon, Melissa Duran, Kelli Sangston and Vanessa Montelongo. Second row: Kristen Abramovitz, Megan Bound, KayleyAnna Dohmen, Alyssa Williams, Amanda Hensley and Joshua Dixon. Back row: Bailey Flynt, Maddy Lee, Madelyn Milburn, Ashley Batson, Brittain Cooper, Taylia Cavazos, Isamar Ibarra, Gabi Gollhofer and Connor Henry. Not pictured are Kelli McCallister, Katie Kurima, Wayne Verhoff and Katlin Schmidt. Murray Bishoff/

Ceremony held Thursday at performing arts center

A new group of 28 students were inducted Thursday into the Monett High School Chapter of the National Honor Society.

The induction ceremony, held in the performing arts center, included a candle lighting ceremony. Officers of the chapter, Arabella McEntire, Kacie Lawrence, Alejandra Rivera and Brayden Selvey, provided commentary on scholarship, leadership, service and character, the criteria for selection.

Susie Kinlock, sponsor for NHS, provided introductory comments. Principal David Williams concluded with his congratulations.

A reception followed in the lobby of the PAC.