Annual awards announced at Scott Tech

Saturday, May 13, 2017
Sierra Keener of Crane was the welding Student of the Year at the Scott Regional Technology Center. Keener, at center, received the honor from her instructor, Aaron Obermann, at left, and a representative from the Missouri Welding Institute. Contributed photo

Scholarships, top program completers


Students received honors for achievement in technical and career education during the 21st annual Recognition night at the Scott Regional Technology Center, held May 2 and May 4.

Heather Schmidley, health occupations instructor, presented Tyler Wimsatt from Mt. Vernon with the first award at the annual Recognition Night at the Scott Regional Technology Center.
Murray Bishoff/

Scott Tech serves 14 school districts, including Monett, by providing training in 14 career and technical programs.

One of the top awards of the year recognizes the most outstanding student in the welding program. Sierra Keener of Crane was the welding Student of the Year, receiving the ACDC Lincoln 225 welding machine along with a Lincoln Electric gear bag full of welding gear and a $1,500 scholarship to Missouri Welding Institute.

A total of 53 students were recognized as Passport recipients. They successfully maintained a “B” or above grade average during the entire course and were absent no more than six days in a given year during their program. Instructor recommendation is also required to receive this honor.

There were 138 students were in addition considered “completers” of their program.

Among a few of the achievements represented were Jessica Terry, an auto collision student from Cassville receiving the Breaking Traditions Spirit Award. Carlee McChesney, a construction technology student from Crane, and Jordi Garcia, an early childhood careers student from Monett both received the Region VIII Breaking Traditions Award.

Cassville Cruisers presented two $300 scholarships to Kyler Gray from Monett and Shelby Taylor from Cassville.

Recipients of the child development associate scholarship were Sabrina Estes from Mt. Vernon and Dominique Christy from Cassville. Both were enrolled in early childhood education.

Ashley Bryand from Monett received the Community Blood Center of the Ozarks Scholarship along with Araseli Avila and Hallie Henderson. Avila and Henderson were health occupations students receiving the Cox Monett Hospital Student of Clinical Excellence.

Tyler Groves from Billings signed on with University of Northern Ohio as a scholarship recipient.

For those recognized on May 4, 143 students earned National Career Readiness certificates. Seven earned gold certificates: Morgan Boley of Purdy in the JROTC program, Thomas Burch of Purdy in the diesel technology program, Audria Conn of Aurora in the culinary arts program, Caleb Rattles of Monett in the JROTC program, Williams Simmons of Cassville in the computer maintenance and networking class, Truman Stearns of Pierce City in the welding technology class, and Ryan Test of Cassville in the graphic design class.