JROTC students receive awards for the year

Saturday, May 6, 2017
JROTC cadets at the Scott Regional Technology Center lined up to receive certificates of achievement during the programís annual awards ceremony. Colonel Chad Sparks presented the certificates while Command Sergeant Major Garrett Spencer read the names at left. Murray Bishoff/times-news@monett-times.com

Commendation provided by Missouri General Assembly

Cadets in the Army Junior Reserve Officer Training Corps (JROTC) program at the Scott Regional Technology Center received awards for the year during the Awards Night ceremony on April 27.

Cadets received Leadership Education Training (LET) certificates, good conduct ribbons, commendation ribbons and ribbon for Excellent Staff Performance and JROTC Proficiency Awards.

The Superior Cadet Award, the program's highest award, signed by Barry Vandenberg, chief of the Third Brigade of Army JROTC, went to Jacqueline Gonzalez Monett for LET 4, Sam Masri from Monett High School for LET 3, Anna Lechner from Pierce City for LET 2 and Aric Zabala from Pierce City for LET 1.

The Instructor Leadership Award was presented to Gonzalez at the LET 4 level, Jeffrey Kuhnert from Monett High School at LET 3, Lechner for LET 2 and Zabala for LET 1.

Academic Excellence Awards and Department of Army Citations for Superior Cadets went to Caleb Rattles from Monett for LET 4, Masri for LET 3, Lechner for LET 2 and Zabala for LET 1.

Gonzalez, the cadet commander for the year, received the AMVETS Award and the Military Order of Purple Heart.

Lechner received the AMVETS award as the outstanding cadet at the end of their first year.

The National Sojourners Medal was awarded to Kuhnert.

Masri received the Sons of the American Revolution Medal for demonstrating the necessary attributes of citizenship, patriotism and soldierly qualities.

Scottish Rite of Freemasonry Award went to Wyatt Neff of Aurora .

Dusty Prier from Verona received the Non-Commissioned Officer Award.

Ryan Burleson of Aurora received the Military Officers Association of America medal and certificate for evidencing a high order of loyalty and exceptional potenial for military leadership.

Cadets also received color guard awards, rifle team awards, marksmanship badges, physical fitness awards and academic achievement ribbons.

Seniors in the program were recognized. They included Morgan Boley, Purdy; Jordan Brant, Cassville; Tori Cole, Cassville; Montana Craig, Monett; Shyan Foster, Aurora; Emily Millyard, Aurora; David Norris, Billings; Tyler Roper, Marionville; Connor Sullivan, Miller; Tyler Wallace, Cassville; Dilliion Wirey, Marionville; Burleson, Aurora; Gonzales of Monett, Neff of Aurora and Rattles of Monett.

Seniors receiving awards for outstanding patriotism and military potential were Burleson, Gonzalez, Neff, Norris, Sullivan and Wallace. Fernanda Ayala of Monett, due to graduate in December, was recognized as a junior.

Three American Legion Posts in the area presented medals and certificates for scholastic and military excellence. Post No. 118 from Cassville gave gold, silver and bronze medals for military excellence to Tori Cole and Tyler Wallace, both from Cassville, and Larry Hill of Mt. Vernon. Scholastic excellence medals went to Zabala and Lechner of Pierce City and Crismon Johnson of Billings.

Post No. 419 in Freistatt gave military excellence medals to Kuhnert, Jacquelyn Espinoza and Montana Craig, all of Monett. Scholastic excellence medals went to Gonzalez of Monett, Morgan Boley of Purdy and Ayala of Monett.

Team captains for the year received special recognition for their hours of memorizing drill patterns, rehearsals and motivating team members. They were: Neff with the Alpha unarmed drill team; Burleson with the Bravo unarmed drill team and the armed drill team; Prier with the new cadet unarmed drill team; Masri with the color guard; and Masri and Gonzalez with the rifle team.