Mary Beck dancers win top honors from Dance Masters

Saturday, April 29, 2017
Senior dancers Sydney Sebastian and Jordan Campbell won platinum and gold for their performances respectively as members of the Mary Beck Studio of Dance at the Dance Masters of America, Oklahoma Chapter, competition. Contributed photo

Solos win platinum and gold distinctions

The Mary Beck School of Dance won several platinum and gold honors at the Dance Masters of America, Oklahoma Chapter, competition.

Held March 31 and April 1, competition took place in the Owasso High School's Performing Arts Center. Judges awarded platinum honors on points between 95 and 100 on a 100-point scale. Gold came from 90 to 95 points, and performances earned high silver for 85 to 90 points.

On solos, Sydney Sebastian won platinum and a first place trophy. Jordan Campbell won gold and a judges' award. Lily Cahalan also won gold.

Soloists claiming high silver honors were M'Kena Propps, Jaysa Aga, Carley Klewer, Harriett Meyer, Marley Jackson, Tyrajean Sturgell, Abbey Ball and Elizabeth Enos.

In duos, taking high silver were Mollie Salsman and Rielynn Endicott, Hailey Roark and Elizabeth Butler, and Jolie Evans and Marianne McCrackin.

In small lines, the ensemble performing "All That Jazz" won platinum. Dancers were Jordan Campbell, Harriett Meyer, Sydney Sebastian, Carley Klewer, Ellis Whisman, Jaysa Aga, Lily Cahalan, Caitlyn Calhoun, Riley Hohensee, Elizabeth Enos, Marianne McCrackin, Peyton Poage, M'Kenna Propps and Morgan Slater.

The entry "If You Could See Me Now" in small lines won high silver and a first place trophy. Dancers were Celeste Allred, Mollie Salsman, Rielynn Endicott, Jolie Evans, Emma Hunter, Hailey Roark, Abbey Ball, Lauren Blackburn, Chaney Cox, Lilli Sitton, Jayden Roberts and Jillian LeComopte.

The number "Jailhouse Rock" won high silver and the first place trophy. Dancers were Chloe Ledgerwood, Gracie Delcour, Carley Mitchell, Cameron Cox, Saige Holman, Allie Kuhnert, Aileen Curbow, Morgan Wright and Spencer Hurt.

Also winning high silver were the following numbers:

"I've Got That Rock and Roll," with dancers Addison Avondet, Elizabeth Butler, Marley Jackson, Meredith Merriman, Samantha Salas, Kaehler Swearingin, Tyrajean Sturgell, Dawnee Sorensen, Hope Brittenham and Kennedy Truman.

"Uptown Funk," with dancers Morgan Slater, Marianne McCrackin, Lily Cahalan, Peyton Poage, Elizabeth Enos, M"Kena Propps, Elllie Whisman, Jaysa Aga, Caitlyn Calhoun and Riley Hohensee.

"Don't Stop The Party," with the same dancers as "If You Could See Me Now."

"You're Never Fully Dressed Without A Smile," with the same dancers as "I've Got That Rock and Roll."

The studio will have its annual recital in at 2 p.m. on June 4 at Taylor Auditorium at Missouri Southern State University in Joplin.