Saunders received Drury Distinguished Staff Award

Saturday, January 21, 2017
Ann Saunders of Monett, at left, received the Drury University Distinguished Staff Award. She received the award from Drury President J. Timothy Cloyd, at right. Contributed photo

Monett campus director praised for service, resourcefulness

Drury University has recognized Ann Saunders, director of the Monett campus, with the 2016 Distinguished Staff Award.

Saunders, director of the Southwest Region within the College of Continuing Professional Studies (CCPS). was singled out for her dedication to the mission of Drury and CCPS and for her tireless efforts to bolster that mission at Drury's Monett campus.

Saunders was instrumental in landing the $1.9 million federal CAMP grant to help migrant workers and their families find educational opportunities this year. She played a key role in facilitating the donation of the Monett campus property to the university last year. She was praised for her ability to build connections, create new opportunities for growth, and mentor students and fellow employees.

The Distinguished Staff Award was established in 2006 by Drury alumni and two former employees to recognize one staff member's exceptional accomplishments, leadership and service to the university each year. Staff members with at least two years of continuous service are eligible to be nominated for the award.