Cubs soccer rewarded for historical season on the pitch

Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Monett's Jason Puente earned First Team All-State honors this season. Kyle Troutman/

3 Cubs secure All-State honors

The final soccer awards were released and contained good news for the the Monett team that finished 19-7-1.

Three Cubs landed on the list, the most ever in school history. Sophomore Jason Puente was named to the First Team, and Carlos Izaguirre and Daniel Salas garnered Second Team honors.

Puente was also named Co-Offensive Player of the Year with Jimmy Choinka of Duchesne.

Coach Cristobal Villa was named Public School Coach of the Year, also a first in school history.

In the final team rankings, Monett finished fourth despite finishing second in the state tournament.

John Burroughs was first, followed by Priory and Lutheran South in the final poll.

The complete all-state team is as follows:

Player of the Year: Aliff Rush, John Burroughs

Co-Offensive Player of the Year: Jimmy Choinka, Duchesne, and Jason Puente, Monett

Defensive Player of the Year: Will Hanley, Priory

Co-Goalkeeper of the Year: Alex Dickey, Pembroke Hill, and Zach Bolger, O'Hara

Coach of the Year -- Private: Alan Trzecki, John Burroughs

Coach of the Year -- Public: Cristobal Villa, Monett

First Team

Alex Dickey, Pembroke Hill, Goal Keeper

Zach Bolger, O'Hara, Goal Keeper

Ethan Cowell, Duchesne, Goal Keeper

Michael Sallee, Springfield Catholic, Goal Keeper

Will Hanley, Priory, Defender

Ian Kimbrell, O'Hara, Mid-fielder

Zach Cissell, St. Pius (KC), Mid-fielder

Jimmy Choinka, Duchesne, Mid-fielder

Omer Krdzic, Bayless, Mid-fielder

Brad Fritsche, Lutheran South, Mid-fielder

Cole Gertsenberger, Perryville, Mid-fielder

Philip Udinywie, Boonville, Mid-fielder

Aliff Rush, John Burroughs, Forward

Ian Bradley, John Burroughs, Forward

Max Wooten, St. Charles West, Forward

Spencer Van Nest, Lutheran South, Forward

Kaleb Keller, Principia, Forward

Tommy Canino, Bishop DuBourg, Forward

Jason Puente, Monett, Forward

Ian McCluskey, Southern Boone, Forward

Chad Angerer, Fatima , Forward

Alec Adair, Boonville, Forward

Brandon Washington, Pembroke Hill, Forward

Second Team

Austin Cheeley, Lutheran South, Goal Keeper

Trent Untereinner, Perryville, Goal Keeper

Eddie Jounson-Banks, Summit Christian, Defender

Daniel Fink, Duchesne, Defender

Kaleb Weeks, Orchard Farm, Defender

Donald Meyer, Lutheran South, Defender

Daniel Salas, Monett, Defender

Sam Salmons, Southern Boone, Defender

Cole Mengwasser, Fatima, Defender

Josh Udinywie, Boonville, Defender

Hayden Ferguson, O'Hara, Defender

Will Beachner, O'Hara, Defender

Charlie Berns, Priory, Defender

Kieffer DeMayo, Pembroke Hill, Mid-fielder

Colin Cummings, St. Pius (KC), Mid-fielder

Alex Mellas, Priory, Mid-fielder

Chase Warner, John Burroughs, Mid-fielder

Mike Smegner, St. Charles West, Mid-fielder

Patrick Wisnewski, John F. Kennedy, Mid-fielder

Jacob Oglesby, Bishop DuBourg, Mid-fielder

Blake Bauwens, Cape Notre Dame, Mid-fielder

Arnel Kostic, Affton, Mid-fielder

Kaueh Huttenlocher, Springfield Catholic, Mid-fielder

Carlos Izaguirre, Monett, Forward

Honorable Mention

Josh Kunkelman, Fatima, Goal Keeper

John Ince, John Burroughs, Defender

Mohammed AL-Hasani, Bayless, Defender

Garrett Seibert, Cape Notre Dame, Defender

Ian Harmon, Center, Mid-fielder

Zach Staples, Maryville, Mid-fielder

Alejandro Gastelum, Missouri Military Academy, Mid-fielder

Jake Madden, St. Pius (Festus), Mid-fielder

David Allred, Bishop DuBourg, Mid-fielder

Zac Straus, Springfield Catholic, Mid-fielder

Rece Gilmore, Southern Boone, Mid-fielder

Isaac Butler, Whitfield, Forward

Christian Kassebaum, O'Fallon Christian, Forward

Mason Miller, Oak Grove, Forward

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: