Purdy FFA Chapter holds annual banquet

Monday, May 20, 2013
Photo submitted FFA Chapter Treasurer Jacey Staponski presented Duane Hammen with an Honorary Chapter FFA Degree for his service to the organization.

The Purdy FFA Chapter held its annual banquet on Friday, May 3 to recognize outstanding members and their accomplishments throughout the past year.

Area 9 State Vice President Sarah Bastin gave a motivational speech to young members, encouraging them to chase their dreams and never give up.

Those receiving their Greenhand FFA Degrees were: Luke Beaty, Mallorie Carver, Luis Cruz, Esmeralda Dodson, Mikala Fletcher, Andrea Humphrey, Breanna Keeler, Skylar Lakey, Randi Lowery, Jimmy Maxwell, Abby Parsons, Maria Perez, Jonatan Salazar, Kylie Wilson and Ashton Young.

Photo submitted Rick and Cindy Staponski received an Honorary Chapter FFA Degree from their daughter and 2013 FFA Chapter treasurer, Jacey Staponski, in recognition of their service to the chapter.

The chapter recognizes an exceptional first year member and rewards him or her with the title of Star Greenhand. This year's Star Greenhand was awarded to Mikala Fletcher.

Receiving Chapter FFA Degrees were: Macey Breeding, Michael Dent, Jayse Henderson, Billie House, Robby Moody, Jake Terry and Shelby Thomas. Thomas was recognized as Chapter Star Farmer for her dedication to the chapter and her promising Supervised Agriculture Experience program.

The Chapter Star in Agricultural Placement went to Brendon Lucero for his hard work on a local farm.

Proficiency Awards in the FFA are designed to reward hard working members on the chapter, area, state, and national levels. Those receiving a Proficiency Award at the chapter level were: Dustin Moore, agricultural sales-placement; Cash Skiles, agricultural services; Luke Beaty, beef production, entrepreneurship; Jayse Henderson, Andrea Humphrey, Skylar Lakey, Abby Parsons and Mikayla Sullivan, dairy production, placement; Kaitlin Brigman, Chelsea Mareth, Taylor Reynolds and Jacey Staponski, environmental science and natural resource management; Micayla Staponski and Kylie Wilson, equine production, entrepreneurship.

Doni Craig, Brittany Hayes and Kelton Mattingly, floriculture; Deana Burch, Bailey Burnside, Melanie Heston, Jimmy Maxwell, Edith Ramirez, Jonatan Salazar and Shelby Thomas, food science and technology; Jake Terry, outdoor recreation; Esmeralda Dodson, Desirie Ennes, Billie House, Brendon Lucero, Robby Moody and Shelby Thomas, poultry production; Mikala Fletcher, Breanna Keeler, Maria Perez and Ashton Young, scholarship pin; Mallorie Carver, swine production, entrepreneurship.

Area proficiency award recipients were: Tyler Scott, third, small animal production and care; Alex Mareth, second, diversified livestock production; and Kirstin Strother, first, agriculture communications.

Kirstin Strother also received a proficiency award at the state level.

Every year, the chapter recognizes individuals who extend their help to the chapter and its members. Those recognized were: Rick and Cindy Staponski, Danny Vaughn, and Duane Hammen.