[Monett Times] Overcast ~ 59°F  
High: 66°F ~ Low: 49°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

Races develop as filings close for April 2 election

Thursday, January 17, 2013

Filings closed on Tuesday for the April 2 election for city councils, school boards, road districts and ambulance districts. A number of races took shape in the final days.

School boards

* Monett R-1: A sixth candidate added his name on Monday to create the largest field for two elected seats for the election. Two-term incumbent and current board president Marty Scabarozi and one-term incumbent Doug Childress both filed for re-election on the first day. First-time candidates Sean Kelley, Steven Graves and Billy Willis were joined by Richard B. Morris, who previously ran in 2009.

* Pierce City R-6: Four candidates are running for the two open seats on the Pierce City School Board. Filing on the last day was Bonnie Witt-Schulte, three-term incumbent and past board president who left office in 2008. Three-term incumbent Kenny O'Hara is the only other incumbent to file, as two-term incumbent Kent Boursheski did not refile.

Also running are Carl Younker and John Vincent.

* Purdy R-2: No election will be needed in the Purdy School District. The two candidates who filed on the first day will take both vacancies without any challengers. One-term incumbent Ed Mareth and first-time candidate Todd Schallert are assured of election with two-term incumbent Tracy Tate not seeking re-election.

* Verona R-7: Three candidates have filed for the two vacancies on the Verona School Board. Three-term incumbent David Doner filed and two-term incumbent Dale Whitlock did not. First-time candidates Kenna Freiburger and Kevin Hilton are the other candidates.

City councils

* Purdy: Several faces will change on the Purdy City Council even though there are no contested races. Two-term incumbent Ron Dutra, who also served four terms as alderman, decided not to file for re-election. Five-term aldermen Steve Roden filed to run without opposition for the mayor's job.

Two-term incumbent mayor Bob Moser, who resigned in 2009 for health reasons, filed to succeed Roden as the Ward 1 alderman. Four-term incumbent Wayne Rupp filed for re-election as alderman from Ward Two.

Filing on Tuesday was first-time candidate Larry Rickman for the one-year seat. Rickman will succeed Sean Priest, who resigned after moving out of the city.

* Pierce City: Two changes developed on the city council in Pierce City, where again no contested races formed.

Ward 4 alderman Kenneth Brandon Raley moved, and was the only candidate to file for the Ward 3 seat. First-time candidate Malia Henderson filed to replace Raley in Ward 4.

One-term incumbent Kenny Smith filed for re-election in Ward One, as did four-term incumbent Brian Jones in Ward Two.

* Verona: One vacancy remains for voters to fill by write-in on the Verona City Council. No one filed for the one-year seat created by the resignation of Scott Gaston, who moved out of the city.

No changes will take place in the other council seats. Willis Hutson is unopposed in his bid for a full term as mayor, a position he stepped into last year by appointment. One-term incumbent Gary Welters filed for a one-year seat. Sheila Massengill, who has been appointed to the council twice, filed for a two-year seat, as did incumbent Eddy Carey.

* Freistatt: A fourth candidate has created a race for the three open seats on the Freistatt village board. In addition to two-term incumbents Eva Jobe and Delpha Bowling filing for re-election, former mayor Elmer Conway and Chuck Jobe also filed to run.

Other races

The Barry-Lawrence Ambulance District will not have an election with incumbents filing for both open seats. Mike Bennett, representing the Purdy area in District 2, filed to keep the seat he has held since 2008. Daryl Fenski, the current board chairman, filed to keep his District 5 seat, which he has held since 2000.

The only race for a road district commissioner's seat near Monett may not develop. In the Verona Benefit Special Road District, incumbent Jeff Kaal filed for re-election in the final days. Quinton Bauer, who had previously signed to run, said he would withdraw if Kaal filed. County Clerk Gary Emerson said Bauer has until Jan. 22 to officially take his name off the ballot.

Voters in the Freistatt Special Road District will have a chance to fill a vacancy by write-in. No one filed to fill the seat held by incumbent Mark Fellwock.

In the Pierce Special Road District, incumbent Don Gripka was the only candidate to file. Glennon Kleiboeker, an incumbent, was the only candidate to file in the Mt. Pleasant Special Road District.

One race developed in the northern Barry County road districts. In Pleasant Ridge, David Sperandio and John Godsey both filed.

Running unopposed for road district commissioner are Bruce Washeck in Monett, Darrell Obermann in Kings Prairie, Lonnie Creech in Purdy, Evan Craig in Corsicana and Mike Washick in Capps Creek.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.