[Monett Times] Fair ~ 64°F  
High: 70°F ~ Low: 47°F
Wednesday, May 4, 2016

School board members to be honored

Wednesday, January 16, 2013

Missourians benefit every day from the dedicated energies and countless hours devoted by a group of more than 3,600 men and women in every community across the state. Local school board members are public servants elected by local constituents, and they do not receive compensation for their tireless efforts.

During the week of Jan. 20 through Jan. 26, communities across the state will honor the dedicated service of local boards of education during School Board Recognition Week, as proclaimed by Governor Jay Nixon. All Missouri citizens are asked to recognize the important contributions of these men and women and focus attention on the vital role these public officials play in the education of Missouri's children.

"Serving as a school board member is sometimes a thankless job. Seldom are board members applauded for the volunteer service they provide for the school community," said Brad Hanson, Monett superintendent. "We are certainly blessed within the Monett R-1 School District to have seven very dedicated, professional and progressive board of education members who most assuredly have our students' best interests at heart. Their leadership and guidance continues to ensure that Monett remains student focused and future driven."

Monett R-1 School Board members are: Marty Scabarozi, president, six years; Doug Childress, vice president, three years; David Beckett, eight years; Ken Gaspar, two years; Dr. Darren Bass, two years; A.J. Bahl, one year; and Dr. J.D. Roberts, seven years.

Other area boards

Verona School Board members are: Donnie Craft, president, 20 years; Louis Carrasquillo, vice president, two years; Mary Hesemann, treasurer, two years; Dave Doner, nine years; DeDe Hutson, two years; Dale Whitlock, six years; and Jeff Hillhouse, one years.

"I appreciate these seven patrons of the community who volunteer their time and energy to help guide and improve the lives of our rising generation," said William Sweet, Verona superintendent. "Their genuine concern for the educational services of this community should be recognized and applauded."

Purdy School Board members are: Randy Henderson, nine years; Mike Bennett, seven years; Ed Mareth, two years; Russ Neill, seven years; Tracy Tate, five years; Ken Terry, three years; and Ronnie Veith, 10 years.

"We are fortunate to have a group of passionate, servant leaders on our board of education," said Dr. Steven Chancellor, Purdy superintendent. "Their vision for our school district promotes the beliefs and values of Purdy and strives for excellence in and out of the classroom. I am very proud and honored to have such fine individuals working together on behalf of our students and community."

Pierce City School Board members are: Jim Barchak, president, 14 years; Mike Zebert, vice president, four years; David Jones, treasurer, five years; Kent Boursheski, six years; Kenny O'Hara, nine years; Doug Chapman, two years; and Michael Blinzler, 13 years.

"As superintendent of Pierce City schools, I am honored to serve in a leadership capacity with our members of the Pierce City Board of Education," said Aaron Cornman, Pierce City superintendent. "Our administrative team is very appreciative of the time, effort and detail the board members put into improving the educational process for the students and staff of our district. They have dedicated themselves to our greater school community, internal and external publics to make Pierce City schools the best they can. For that I am grateful."

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.