[Monett Times] Fair ~ 45°F  
High: 71°F ~ Low: 47°F
Thursday, May 5, 2016

Monett, Big 8 well represented with postseason honors

Wednesday, December 5, 2012

There is an old sports saying that "to be the best, you must play the best." As the final postseason awards have been released one thing is apparent, the Big 8 Conference has some of Missouri's and most of the area's best players.

Instead of selecting the traditional All-District team the Southwest Missouri Football Coaches Association (SWMFBCA) released the new All-Region team.

Of the 118 athletes named to the All-Region team 64 (54 percent) were from the Big 8 Conference. Monett had 17 of its football players named to the squad.

The Cubs also had a combined total of seven players named to the Associated Press (AP) and Missouri Football Coaches Association All-State teams (MFCA).

AP All-State

* Kurran Blamey, a senior, was selected to the AP All-State first team as a wide receiver. Blamey caught 25 passes for 599 yards and seven touchdowns. He also rushed for 999 yards and 11 scores. Blamey also had 91 tackles at his defensive back position with four interceptions.

* Aaron Hall, a senior, earned second team honors as a running back. Hall rushed 354 times this season collecting 1,657 yards and scored 15 touchdowns. He also caught four passes for 90 yards.

* Reese Bounous, a senior, collected a second team award as a defensive lineman. Bounous had 69 tackles for the Cubs and 2.5 sacks.

MFCA All-State

* Hall was a first team MFCA All-State running back selection.

* Bounous was honored as a second-team All-State defensive end pick.

* Blamey earned first team honors as a defensive back.

* Matt Murphy, a senior, collected a second team linebacker honor. Murphy had 139 tackles for Monett, 9.5 sacks, one forced fumble and one blocked kick.

SWMFBCA All-Region

The Cubs had 18 total athletes selected to the All-Region team, the most of any Big 8 school. They are as follows.

* Coach of the Year: Chad Depée.

* Defensive Player of the Year: Kurran Blamey.

First team

Offense: Aaron Hall, running back; Devon Overall, tight end; Kurran Blamey, wide receiver; and Reese Bounous, offensive lineman.

Defense: Dezmond Bradford, defensive lineman; Reese Bounous, defensive end; Matt Murphy, linebacker; and Kurran Blamey, defensive back.

Second team

Offense: Fernando Salas, offensive lineman.

Honorable mention

Offense: Cristian Romero, offensive lineman.

Defense: Devon Overall, linebacker; Tyler Bass, defensive back; Zack Swearingen, defensive back; and Zack Hammond, defensive back.

For a complete list of the All-Region and both All-State teams please visit www.monett-times.com.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.