[Monett Times] Light Rain ~ 52°F  
High: 60°F ~ Low: 41°F
Monday, May 2, 2016

Buchmueller gives history of Trinity Lutheran Church

Wednesday, November 28, 2012

The Dorcas Ladies Aid met on Nov. 1 in the fellowship hall of Trinity Lutheran Church in Freistatt with Judy Lehde, president, calling the meeting to order.

Marjorie Harris gave the worship, entitled "Thinking and Thanking."

Pastor Ryan Buchmueller gave a brief history of Trinity Lutheran Church, citing many interesting facts and statistics. He conducted a quiz on the history that added a few interesting facts and several members added their memories.

Judy Krueger conducted the mite ingathering. She spoke of the $100,000 grant to Haskell Indian Nations University Lutheran Campus Ministry Expansion in Lawrence Kan., and closed with a prayer for Native Americans.

The regular offering, Thanksgiving offering and membership dues were collected. The hunger offeringwill be sent to Hurricane Sandy relief efforts.

Committee reports were presented, with Connie Prater, Christian Growth, announcing the committee's work on yearbooks continues. Prater will lead the December program.

Lena Bremer reported 10 ladies attended the mission committee workday and nine quilts had been finished. No date has been set for the next workday.

Attending the workday were Thelma Barnes, Dorothy Osterloh, Mabel Moennig, Barbara Steinberg, Marge Harris, Nadine Obermann, Karen Kleiboeker, Erna Schoen, Krueger and Bremer.

The Lutheran Parish Planning Council (LPPC) met following the reformation service. The group is a gathering of Missouri Synod Lutheran Congregations in Lawrence and Barry counties. Together, they provide opportunities for worship, fellowship, service, and spiritual growth. The Bible Institute will take place in January.

Members sang the birthday song to Evelyn Bracht, Anne Telschow, and Krueger. Cards were signed for absent members.

Dorothy Osterloh reported visiting nursing homes, Laverne Tiesel and Loydeen Hessemann.

Members elected officers for the 2013 year. Lehde will serve as president and Prater will fill the seat of vice president.

The meeting closed with The Lord's Prayer.

Members attending included: Lena Bremer, Ruth Bremer, Erna Mae Doss, Ethel Helmkamp, Esther Kleiboeker, Doris Meyer, Janice Meyer, Elda Nelson, Ruth Nelson, Shirley Stanford, Jeanne Stoltz, Pastor Ryan Buchmueller, Bracht, Harris, Krueger, Lehde, Moennig, Obermann, Osterloh, and one guest, Virginia Scott.

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.