[Monett Times] Partly Cloudy ~ 64°F  
High: 65°F ~ Low: 43°F
Tuesday, May 3, 2016

Thomas Hart Benton competition winners named

Wednesday, November 7, 2012

Winners of the 17th annual Thomas Hart Benton Four-State Regional Art Competition and Exhibit have been announced. The event took place on Oct. 13 at Crowder College.

The 2-D competition consisted of three levels, professional, emerging and students. Mediums represented included oils, acrylics, mixed media, drawing, draftsmanship and watercolor. All work must have been original and created solely by the artist.

Winners are as follows:

Best of show: Larry Clingman, professional, received $500 and a one-man show to be hosted by Longwell Museum. His entry was "Plum and Copper."


First place was awarded to Frank Young, $250, "Holiday;" second place, Dan McWilliams, $250, "Ferris Wheel," and third place winner was W. Jeffery James, $150, "Acoustic Trio."

Excellence Awards, professional

"Get this Party Started," oil, Helen Kunze; "Princess of the Plains," pastel, Tanya Ware; "What Little Boys and Girls are Made Of," mixed media, Carol Shipman; "Silver Hollow," drawing, J. Lacy; "Calling on the Crumplies," watercolor, Sam Hall; "King of the Hill," acrylic, James H. Lewis. All of the artists were awarded $50.

Merit awards, professional

"Green Apples," Dolores Bilke, received art supplies from Hobby Lobby; "Chi Dong Dong Chong," April Davis; and "Papa Bear," Sandra Strother, both received $25 Hobby Lobby gift cards.

Emerging artist winners

"Best Buddies Forever," first place, Carolyn Grainger, $125; "Me Kong Canal," second place, Mariko McCleary, $100; and "Forest," third place, Loretta McKee, $75.

Excellence awards for emerging artists

Dale Dart, oil, "Misty Morning;" Debbie Major, mixed media, "Chickadee;" Loretta McKee, draftsmanship, "The Admiral Train;" Elliott Potter, watercolor, "Family Farm Home 2010;" Mariko McCleary, acrylic, "Mekong Canal." All artists received $25.

Merit awards, emerging artists

Debbie Major, "Poppies," and Nina Lewis, "Balloon Glow."

Student category

"Dreaming," first place, Jared Jennings, received $50; "Weeping," second place, Ariel Bowers; "Optical Illusion of Personification," Aubrey Donaldson, third place.

Carthage resident Teresa Rankin judged the competition. Rankin is a member of Oil Painters of America, American Women Artists and The American Impressionist Society.

The event was sponsored by the Southwest Missouri Art Alliance (SMAA), a volunteer organization made up of artists dedicated to the presentation of the annual show. Crowder College, Community Bank and Trust of Neosho, Neosho Arts Council and the Missouri Association of Community Arts Agencies, along with other local businesses and institutions, contributed to this year's event for prizes and expenses.

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.