[Monett Times] Partly Cloudy ~ 61°F  
High: 75°F ~ Low: 48°F
Saturday, Apr. 30, 2016

Dorcas Ladies Aid meets in Freistatt

Wednesday, October 31, 2012

Members of the Lutheran Women's Missionary League (LMWL) Dorcas Ladies Aid met Oct. 4 at Trinity Lutheran School in Freistatt. Judy Lehde, president, called the meeting to order and welcomed members and guests, Pastor Ryan Buchmueller and Virginia Scott.

Lehde presented the worship, entitled "God, the Owner of the World and the Keeper." Hymns sung included "For the Beauty of the Earth," and "How Great Thou Art."

Lehde gave a history of songs, including "America the Beautiful," as the program topic. She passed photos and postcards from her recent trip to the Grand Canyon and several national parks.

Committee reports were presented.

Christian Growth committee members plan to sit at the front of the church on LWML Sunday and say the pledge at the end of the service. Lehde, Doris Meyer and Connie Prater will participate in the service. Broadcast and flowers will be paid for by the LWML.

Jeanne Stoltz reported the executive board, with the exception of Ruth Bremer, vice president, has agreed to serve in 2013. Connie Prater will serve as vice president.

Members signed a card for Prater who is facing surgery.

Mabel Moennig offered information on the nursing homes she visited.

Ruth Nelson reported paying for children's Bibles from the birthday fund. Members sang the birthday song for Myers.

Erna Doss submitted reports on funeral luncheons.

The memorial luncheon for Rose Marie Knaust, on Sept. 15, served 80 people. Those serving the luncheon included Lena Bremer, Lois Gaddy, Thelma Barnes, Kim Moennig, Linda Jelinek, Ethel Helmkamp, Edith Harmon, Judy Krueger, Loren Barnes, Dan Haines and Barbara Steinberg.

The memorial luncheon for Alvin Aufdembrink on Sept. 19 served 93 people. Those serving were Lehde, Meyer, Nelson, Stoltz, Marge Harris, Nellie Stellwagen, Glenda Schoen, Edgar Schoen, Orville Meyer, Herman Lehde, Betty Voskamp and Joe Pennington.

Monthly gifts were voted on for 2013, and Lehde reminded members that the annual zone dues of $6 were to be turned in by the November meeting.

Meyer announced Crosslines has been named the recipient of the ingathering of non-perishable items from the Fall rally.

Bremer prepared dessert, which was served by Moennig and Osterloh.

The meeting closed with members singing "America the Beautiful."

Attending the meeting were: Evelyn Bracht, Ruth Bremer, Erna Doss, Ethel Helmkamp, Esther Kleiboeker, Judy Lehde, Judy Krueger, Doris Meyer, Mabel Moennig, Ruth Nelson, Nadine Obermann, Dorothy Osterloh, Shirley Stanford and Jeanne Stoltz.

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.