[Monett Times] Overcast ~ 50°F  
High: 67°F ~ Low: 46°F
Monday, May 2, 2016

MHS Class of '72 holds reunion

Wednesday, October 3, 2012

Alumni from the Monett High School Class of 1972 are pictured above. In the first row, from left, are: Terri Cooper, Marie (Schnake) Lankford, Marsha (Priest) Harris, Debbie (Flattem) Wilson, Mary Ann (Thompson) Kackley, Debbie (Dust) Miller, Elaine Jeffreys, Gerilyn (Holle) York, and teachers, Jeanne Ann Camp, Vicki Orr and Cynthia Ramsey. Second row: Martha (Whitlock) Strickland, Donna (Baker) Chitwood, Charlotte (Cox) Spahr, Debbie (Thurman) Schoen, Emma Faye Ruscha, Carolyn (Cloud) Butler, Lonna Kay (Wallen) Norman, Donna (Beshears) Beckett, teacher Marney Nowland, Latricia (Nolan) Harris, Elizabeth Ann McAvoy, Aline (Crouch) Graham, Les Carlson, Jesse Reed, and Rick Lillegard. Third row: Kathy (Jameson) Parrigon, Debbie (Wellbaum) Stewart, Vona Jane (Moore) Arnold, Jerry Vaughn, Tony Day, Jerry Thomas, John Sweigart, Mike Arnold, Dr. Mark Costley, administrator Jim Orr, and Superintendent Dr. Ralph Scott. Back row: Rod Kelley, Mark McCaffrey, Gary Crouch, Paul Fly, Stan Fellwock, Russell Wimberley, James Douthitt. Attending the reunion but not present for the picture were: Valerie (McGee) Dixon and John Baty.
Monett High School Class of 1972 members recently held a reunion weekend.

On Friday evening, alumni gathered at the Dr. Mark and Terre Costley farm for a time of getting re-acquainted and visiting.

On Saturday afternoon, the group gathered at Acambaro Restaurant for lunch followed by a dinner at the Monett City Park Casino. Donna Beckett gave a class report and turned the evening over to Rod Kelley, who served as master of ceremonies. Each class member gave a brief personal history and shared a favorite memory.

Class members recognized and winners of commemorative reunion mugs and balloon bouquets were: Charles & Kay Long, married the longest, (Kay passed away in December 2011; Latricia Nolan Harris, the most grandchildren and newlywed; Russ Wimberley, the most children; James Douthitt, the most white hair; Leslie Carlson, changed the most; Aline Crouch Graham, changed the least; Charlotte Cox Spahr, traveled the furthest.

Out-of-state alumni traveled from Arkansas, California, Georgia, Indiana, Kansas, Oklahoma, Texas and Vermont.

The reunion committee consisted of Donna Beckett and Dr. Mark Costley, co-chairmen, Debbie Wilson, Debbie Stewart, Lonna Kay Norman, Russell Wimberley, Jerry Vaughn, Paul Fly, Jerry Thomas, Elaine Jeffreys, Daralyn Horn and Terre Costley, who was recognized for all her time and help.

The superintendent and teachers attending the event were: Dr. Ralph and Mary Kay Scott, Marney and Bessie Nowland, Paul and Jeanne Ann Camp, Jim and Vickie Orr, Chuck and Cynthia Ramsey and J. L. Phillips.

A moment of remembrance was held for deceased members of the class which included: Betty (Roetto) Owens, Bill Pinnell, Don Johnson, Gary Springston, George Etter, Kathy (Spyres) Sutton, Kaye (Schnake) Long, Rick Langevin, Ronnie Knott and Bruce McDougall.

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.