[Monett Times] Fair ~ 66°F  
High: 71°F ~ Low: 55°F
Thursday, May 5, 2016

Monett honors spring sports athletes

Monday, June 11, 2012

Monett High School recognized its spring sports four-year participants during the banquet. In the front row, from left, are: Carter Huffmaster, Jacob Fair, Tyler Webb and Jeff Craft. Second row: Carlin Ballay, Sophie Fulton, Chris Renteria, Jarred Witt and Bryan Beckwith. [Photo by Daryl Bradley]
Monett High School recently hosted its spring sports award night. Boys and girls track, baseball and tennis players were recognized by their coaches for their efforts during the 2011-2012 season.

Chad Depeť and Kelly George, track coaches, Bob Crain, tennis coach, and Michael Calhoun, baseball coach, handed out awards and varsity letters in their respective sports.

Athletes recognized during the awards night are listed below.

Boys track

* Outstanding jumper: Tyler Green

* Outstanding sprinter: Kurran Blamey

* Outstanding mid-distance runner: Mitchel Carlin

* Outstanding distance runner: Chris Renteria

* Outstanding thrower: Fernando Salas

* Outstanding relay: 4x100 Kurran Blamey, Aaron Hall, Zach Swearingen and Green

* Most points: Renteria

Girls track

* Outstanding sprinter: Brooke Madison

* Outstanding mid-distance: Sophie Fulton

* Outstanding distance: Madeleine Weber

* Outstanding relay: 4x400 Relay Raigan Ratliff, Brittany Schultz, Fulton and Madison

* Outstanding jumper: Faith Schmidt

* Outstanding thrower: Lupe Renteria

* Most points: Schmidt


* Most Valuable Player: Andrew Gilliam

* Team leader: Gilliam

* Most improved: Jairo Rueda, Elijah George and Shane Solomon

* Most dedicated: Gilliam and Solomon

* Most determined: George and Jake Ridings

* Sportsmanship: George, Austin Ross and George Fulton

* Best freshman: George

* Most determined JV: Jeff Ogle

* Most dedicated JV: Dalton Dunn


* Defensive Player of the Year: Kyle McCallister

* Rookie of the Year: McCallister

* Pitcher of the Year: Aaron Patton and Nick Childress

* Offensive Player of the Year: Carlin Ballay

* Captain: Jackson Burnside Ballay and Jarred Witt

* Most improved: Burnside

* Academic award: Burnside

* Mr. Cub: Ballay

* Mr. Hustle: Witt

* Marcus O'Hara Award: Witt

* Most Valuable Players of the Year: McCallister and Childress

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.