[Monett Times] Fair ~ 48°F  
High: 64°F ~ Low: 41°F
Sunday, May 1, 2016

Scholarships awarded to Verona graduates

Wednesday, June 6, 2012

Scholarships for the graduates of Verona High School were announced during commencement exercises.

Counselor Isaac Crawford presented several scholarships and introduced representatives from community groups giving local scholarships. The total monetary value of scholarships awarded to Verona graduates was approximately $250,000, Crawford said.

The Community Teachers Association awarded two $300 scholarships to Jenny Jaime and Whitney Shue.

A $2,000 scholarship from the Missouri Farmers Association was presented to Rachel Welters, who also received the $300 Edwin R. Youngberg Memorial Scholarship to a graduate planning to major in agriculture in college.

The First Independent Bank John J. Less Scholarship for $1,000 was awarded to Ryan Noack, who also received the Holt Atkeson Memorial Scholarship.

The Verona FFA Chapter awarded two $750 scholarships to Whitney Shue and Rachel Welters.

The Athletic Booster Club awarded a $600 scholarship to Wesley Kissinger. Three $300 scholarships were presented to Rachel Welters, Tristan Carrasquillo and Whitney Shue.

Verona Alumni Association scholarships were presented by association president Joe Jenkins. The $1,500 Ray Dodson scholarship was awarded to Kayla Killman. The Ruth Wilks Memorial Scholarship was presented to Maria Jiminez. The $500 Vedas Jackson memorial scholarship was awarded to Whitney Shue.

Scholarships of $100 from the association went to Haley Cline, Rebecca Erickson, Jenny Jaime, Ryan Noack, Aleesha Roetto, Mitzi Soto, Marty Turner and Rachel Welters.

A+ scholarships were awarded to Haley Cline, Susan Cochran, Rebecca Erickson, Cody Ernsberger, Wesley Kissinger, Tania Monjaras and Jeffrey Mullen.

The following students received scholarships from colleges and universities:

Tristan Carrasquillo: A $30,276 per year scholarship to play basketball at John Brown University.

Haley Cline: a $3,000 per year scholarship to Ozarks Technical Community College for two years.

Jenny Jaime: The CAMP scholarship to Crowder College.

Wesley Kissinger: The A+ Leadership Scholarship of $1,000 per year for four years to Missouri Southern State University.

Ryan Noack: A $4,000 per year scholarship to the Missouri University of Science and Technology.

Aleesha Roetto: The $1,000 Terry Lynn Washam Memorial Scholarship from Missouri State University.

Whitney Shue: The $2,500 per year Chancellor's Award from the University of Missouri-Kansas City.

Mitzi Soto: The Crowder College CAMP scholarship.

Rachel Welters: The Crowder College CAMP scholarship.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.