[Monett Times] Mostly Cloudy and Windy ~ 63°F  
High: 83°F ~ Low: 64°F
Wednesday, May 25, 2016

Monett officers recognized for service to department, community

Friday, June 1, 2012

Monett Police Officer Ryan Hutton was presented the Meritorious Service Award in recognition of his efforts to promote traffic safety during ceremonies held at the Monett Police Department in May. Pictured above, from left, are: Hutton and Monett Police Chief Tim Schweder.
Monett Police Chief Tim Schweder recently presented several awards to officers in the department for their service to the department and community.

Officer Ryan Hutton was presented the Meritorious Service Award for his efforts to promote traffic safety. In 2012, Hutton led the department with 44 arrests for driving while impaired (DWI) and worked 115 hours on traffic grant projects.

This year's Community Service Award was presented to Shasta Schmidt, who created and presented a program to educate small children about emergencies and the 911 call center.

This is the first year the department has awarded a Good Conduct recognition, which was presented to all officers with more than three years of service.

The Outstanding Officer Award went to Don Massengill, who has been with the Monett Police Department for five years. The award was in recognition of his efforts for traffic work and his determination in clearing cases.

Massengill made the most DWI arrests in 2010 and was also recognized as Missouri's Law Enforcement Traffic Safety Advisory Council (LETSAC) Officer of the Year.

"His dedication has made our community safer and he should be recognized for that," said Schweder.

The Outstanding Department Member award went to Karen Brown, a key member of the department who goes above and beyond what is expected.

"She is always available to help with the computers and radio systems," Schweder said. "Her attitude and dedication to the department sets a fine example for the rest of us to follow."

Letters of appreciation went to: John Strong, chairman of the Barry-Lawrence Chapter of Crime Stoppers and Free Will Baptist Church, for their efforts at graffiti eradication.

Letters of commendation were presented to Officer Scott Landreth for his dedication to his duty as range officer and field training officer; Officer Brian Brown, for the many hours, on and off duty, working on the department's vehicles; Detective George Daoud, for his efforts to equip the patrol vehicles; Sgt. Dennis Camp, for his special efforts in traffic safety, grant project coordination, and dedication to DWI enforcement and his duties as a field training officer; Sgt. Jerry Harrison, for his special efforts in traffic safety, grant project coordination and dedication to DWI enforcement; Glo Abramovitz, for her outreach efforts of sending condolence cards to any department in the nation that suffers the loss of an officer killed in the line of duty; and to crossing guards Moya Ellis and Gayland Burkett.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.