[Monett Times] Fair ~ 61°F  
High: 71°F ~ Low: 55°F
Thursday, May 5, 2016

Purdy High School honors announced

Friday, May 18, 2012

Honors were presented to Purdy High School students at the annual Awards Assembly on May 9.

Principal Bob Vice announced that Addy Roller was the class valedictorian and Rachael Neill was the salutatorian.

The Student Council named the seniors as class of the year. The Academic Team was the organization of the year. The Golden Apple was awarded to Adam Wilhite.

Receiving perfect attendance certificates were: Lydia Berry, Katelyn Diaz, Careya Garcia, Jose Gomez, Logan Hall, Austin Linebarger, Kelton Mattingly, Clarissa Nunez, Phillip Roller, David Thomas, Emily Wolf and Nathan Wolf.


Various presenters announced scholarships from local organizations and families as well as colleges and academic groups. The scholarships and recipients follow:

Carl Geyer Memorial: Kristyn Cornman and Tyler Lowery.

Eagle Backer: Drew Williams, Reese Stevenson, Addy Roller and Tori Wood.

Purdy Alumni: Devon Bennett.

Leroy Howard Memorial: Kristyn Cornman.

Vedas Jackson Memorial: Tori Wood.

First State Bank: Drew Williams.

Luke Stringer Memorial: Garen Nelson.

Purdy High School Class of 1964: Drew Williams.

Security Bank of Cassville: Devon Bennett.

VFW Bill Boucher Scholarship: Katie Clay.

College of the Ozarks: Cody Hall.

Missouri State University Provost: Kristyn Cornman.

Missouri State University Multicultural: Cristobal Ibarra.

Missouri State University Leadership: Kristyn Cornman.

St. John's Auxiliary: Kristyn Cornman.

Community Teachers Association Superintendent's: Kristyn Cornman and Nathan Wolf, $500; Alejandra Gomez and Garen Nelson, $250.

Community Teachers Association Charles Bowman Memorial: Rachael Neill.

Pearl Foundation: Addy Roller, Kristyn Cornman and Drew Williams.

Ingman Scholarship: Rachael Neill.

Dutile Scholarship: Rachael Neill.

Freewill Baptist Church: Kristyn Cornman and Rachael Neill.

Caterpillar: Tyler Lowery.

Linn State Technical College SkillsUSA: Tyler Lowery.

Independence Community College Presidential: Garen Nelson.

Red Cross: Garen Nelson.

Little Joe Transplant Fund: Garen Nelson.

Whitetails Unlimited: Garen Nelson.

University of St. Mary Honor and Athletic Scholarships: Reese Stevenson.

Wayne State Athletic: Addy Roller.

CAMP: Alejandra Gomez.

Missouri University of Science and Technology Trustees: Nathan Wolf.

Crowder College Camp: Alejandra Gomez.

Southwest Baptist University Ingman Scholarship: Rachael Neill.

National Honor Society: Addy Roller, Devon Bennett, Rachael Neill, Kristyn Cornman and Nathan Wolf.

Spanish Club: Cristobal Ibarra.

AmeriCorps Community Service Award: Drew Williams, $1,000.

A+ Scholarship: Alejandra Gomez and Tori Woods, $500.

President's Volunteer Service Award: Drew Williams, Morgan Jacobs and Nallely Perez.

Classroom awards

Teachers presented awards for outstanding achievement in their disciplines.

James Adams, band teacher, presented the outstanding student medal to Amber James.

Lauren Lee, vocal music teacher, presented the outstanding student medal to Phillip Roller. Certificates of achievement were awarded to Katherine Wise, Madison Vice and Alissa Graham.

Christine Scott, art teacher, presented the outstanding student medal to Shelby Thomas. Certificates of achievement went to Shelby Thomas for art 1, Kendra Hall for art 2 and Delanie Williams for ceramics/sculpture.

Kay Wright, business teacher, presented the outstanding student medal to Addy Roller. Certificates of achievement were presented to Megan Schilly and Kelton Mattingly in accounting. Jacey Staponski, Cameron Terry, Quinlan O'Hagan and Cynthia Salas in accounting; and Jackie Hughes in computer applications.

Michelle Hilburn, English teacher, recognized speech and debate members: Ben Cooper, Kyle Davidson, Cindy Garcia, Russell Gonzalez, Beth Heiney, Jackie Hughes, Cristobal Ibarra, Ruben Ibarra, Tyler Jones, Devan Keeler, Andrew McCormick, Timothy Murray, Carlee Shellenberger, Edith Villa and Lucas White. She presented certificates of achievement to Lucas White for speech and debate, Taylor Moller for creative writing, Kelton Mattingly for communication arts 2 and Rachael Neill as the college prep student.

Myra McGee, family and consumer science teacher, recognized achievement in seven areas: Sarah Ly, leadership, marriage and family, housing and interior design; Brittany Hayes, child development; Abi Ibarra, clothing and textiles; Vanessa Ortega, nutrition and wellness; and Jesus Perez, family and career leadership.

Grant Young, health instructor, gave the health class medal for sixth hour to Cameron Terry and Chelsea Mareth and the seventh hour medal to Jayse Staponski and Mattie White. The Missouri State High School Activities Association Sportsmanship Award went to Addy Roller and Drew Williams.

Molly Strickland, math teacher, presented the outstanding student medal to Addy Roller. Certificates of achievement were presented to Morgan Jacobs, Juaquin Robles and Beth Heiney.

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.