[Monett Times] Fair ~ 61°F  
High: 68°F ~ Low: 43°F
Tuesday, May 3, 2016

Southwest Area Career Center awards presented to top students

Friday, May 11, 2012

Tyler Lowery, a diesel technology student from Purdy, won the $1,000 MacTools toolbox from Fabick and Caterpillar and a $1,000 scholarship at the Southwest Area Career Center Recognition Night. From left are: Donnie Ellis, MacTools local distributor; Jimmy Greer and Joe Blankinship with Fabick/Caterpillar, and Lowery. [Times Photo by Murray Bishoff]
Awards for student performance at the Southwest Area Career Center (SWACC) were presented during the annual school recognition night on May 3.

For the first time, the event was held in the gymnasium of Monett High School.

"Due to the increasing growth of this event, it was feasible for us to move across the street and utilize the Monett High School gym with plenty of seating to accommodate our guests and students," said SWACC director Russell Moreland.

Ed Norman, at right, received a plaque during the Southwest Area Career Center Recognition Night in appreciation for his 27 years as an advisor to the SkillsUSA program, presented by fellow welding instructor David Noah. [Times Photo by Murray Bishoff]
Instructors in each of the 15 areas of study presented honors to their students. Karen Brosi, guidance counselor, identified students accepted into the National Technical Honor Society and presented colored tassels to be worn at graduation. Peggy Spurlock, career services coordinator and SkillsUSA competition advisory, and Chris Lee, auto technology instructor, recognized students who excelled in the SkillsUSA competition.

Janet Reppert, Missouri Center for Career Education Region 8 coordinator, and Brosi presented students honored in the Breaking Traditions category for excelling in fields of study contrary to historical patterns or gender. Austin Broyles, from Southwest High School, was recognized as a state winner in culinary arts.

Carter Huffmaster, Monett, was a secondary Breaking Traditions winner in health occupations. Heather Ross, Pierce City, received honorable mention in auto collision. Instructor Chris Lee received honorable mention in the Missouri Region 8 top educator recognition.

Ashley Schmidly, of Monett, was named the Cox Monett Hospital Student of the Year in health occupations. Karen Brosi, guidance counselor, at left, presented Schmidly with a tassel to wear at graduation as a member of the National Technical Honor Society. [Times Photo by Murray Bishoff]
Top honorees were named in the following classes: Ashley Cook, Pierce City, work experience program; Nicole Thompson, Cassville, health occupations; Mitchell Cooper, Cassville, Junior ROTC; Mitzi Soto, Verona, childcare careers; Damon Thompson, Mt. Vernon, auto collision; Austin Nickell, Aurora, welding; Thomas Willis, Monett, machine tool; Alex Hall, Monett, marketing; Austin Broyles, Southwest, culinary arts; Jeff Craft, Monett, auto technology; Hannah George, Monett, graphic communications; Jackson Burnside, Monett, computer maintenance and networking; Camille Crume, Crane, pharmacy technology; Tyler Lowery, Purdy, diesel technology; and Drew Ezell, Mt. Vernon, construction technology.

Scholarships were also awarded. Danielle Carl, Crane, and Nicole Thompson, Cassville, received stethoscopes as the Cox-Monett Hospital students of clinical excellence.

Tyler Lowery, a diesel technology student from Purdy, received a scholarship from Caterpillar to the college of his choice and a $1,000 toolbox from Fabick Caterpillar.

Thomas Willis, of Monett, was recognized as Outstanding Student of the Year in machine tool technology and a first place state winner in precision machining during the Southwest Area Career Center Recognition Night. Instructor Steve Wilson, at left, congratulated Willis. [Times Photo by Murray Bishoff]
Ozark Technical Community College awarded a director's scholarship of $1,000 per semester to Ashley Schmidly, Monett, and Jessica Ruch, Aurora.

Crowder College awarded scholarships renewable per semester in varying denominations to the following students: Tyler Lowery, Purdy, $800; Vanessa Schoon, Monett, $400; Rita Gonzales, Monett, and Drew Ezell, Mt. Vernon, $200.

Brosi said SWACC students received a total or $268,550 in scholarships.

In the SkillsUSA contest, Thomas Willis, Monett, was named Outstanding Student of the Year in machine tool technology and placed first in precision machining in SkillsUSA. Marcella Rangel, Monett, took third place in commercial baking.

Other SkillsUSA state medalists were: Tarek Masri, Monett, Junior ROTC extemporaneous speaking, first; Emma Verstraete, Monett, medical math in pharmacy, second; Tyler Lowery, first in technology information and third in equipment skill in diesel; and Laura Lopez, Cassville, advertising design technology information in graphics, third.

Ashley Schmidly, Monett, was named Cox Monett Hospital Student of the Year.

Ed Norman, retiring welding instructor, was also recognized as SkillsUSA State Advisor of the Year. He received a plaque from David Noah, from Franklin Technical Institute, and Jerry Bonebrake, Crowder College, both welding teachers. Norman was honored for 27 years of dedicated service to the SkillsUSA southwest district on the local, state and national levels.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.