[Monett Times] Overcast ~ 54°F  
High: 68°F ~ Low: 43°F
Wednesday, May 4, 2016

USMTS rocks Monett Speedway

Wednesday, April 25, 2012

Going wide. The racing action was hot and heavy at Monett Speedway Sunday night. The United States Modified Touring Series highlighted the fast-paced action, and Terry Phillps claimed the $2,000 top prize. [Times Photo by Jared Lankford]
Over 70 cars in four divisions shook the three-eighth of a mile dirt track oval at the Monett Speedway Sunday night.

The night was highlighted by the bi-annual arrival of the United States Modified Touring Series (USMTS).

Terry Phillips passed race-long leader Rodney Sanders with nine laps remaining to win the seventh annual Race Brothers Farm and Home Supply Missouri Nationals and his second straight USMTS Casey's Cup victory.

Phillips pocketed the $2,000 winner's share of the prize money. The win was also his series-best third career triumph at Monett.

Jason Hughes and Ryan Gustin, both two-time winners at the "Grand Ol' Lady" in Monett, finished second and third respectively, and Sanders, the USTMS points leader, held on to finish fourth.

Results for all the races at the speedway are as follows.

Pure Stock

Heat #1

1. JP Harris

2. John Beard

3. Frank James

4. Rick McNally

5. Joey Blackston

Feature Finish

1. JP Harris

2. Rick McNally

3. John Beard

4. Elizabeth Jolley

5. Frank James


Heat #1

1. Kris Jackson

2. Michael Stake

3. JC Morton

4. Colt Pruente

5. Zane Blanchard

Heat #2

1. Shawn Strong

2. Scott Drake

3. Bobby Maggard, Jr.

4. Don Cloyd

5. Michael Maggard

Feature Finish

1. Kris Jackson

2. Scott Drake

3. JC Morton

4. Shawn Strong

5. Bobby Maggard, Jr.

USMTS Modified

Heat #1

1. Al Purkey

2. Rodney Sanders

3. Johnny Scott

4. Johnny Bone, Jr.

5. Mitch Keeter

Heat #2

1. Bryan Rowland

2. Ryan Gustin

3. Austin Seibert

4. Ken Schrader

5. Daniel Hilsabeck

Heat #3

1. Stormy Scott

2. Dereck Ramirez

3. Stephen Muilenburg

4. Jackie Dalton

5. Casey Penn

Heat #4

1. Terry Phillips

2. Jason Hughes

3. Jeremy Payne

4. John Allen

5. Dairan Hendrix


1. Bobby Malchus

2. Mitch Keeter

3. Daniel Hilsabeck

4. Justin Rexwinkle

5. Brian Green

Feature Finish

1. Terry Phillips

2. Jason Hughes

3. Ryan Gustin

4. Rodney Sanders

5. Johnny Scott


Heat #1

1. James McDougall

2. Caleb McDougall

3. Justin Comer

4. Wesley Smith

5. Jake Comer

Feature Finish

1. Justin Comer

2. Caleb McDougall

3. Wesley Smith

4. Rick Nichols

5. Jake Comer

Racing action continues this Sunday at the speedway. Gates open at 5 p.m., hotlaps start at 7 p.m., and feature races begin at 7:30 p.m.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.