[Monett Times] Light Rain ~ 52°F  
High: 60°F ~ Low: 41°F
Monday, May 2, 2016

Write-in vote results announced

Monday, April 9, 2012

Write-in votes cast in Tuesday's election have offered possible replacements for vacated government board positions.

In Verona, one at-large city council seat remained open for write-ins on election day. County Clerk Gary Emerson found eight qualified candidates received votes.

Two-term former alderman Matt Pruente, who lost his re-election bid in 2011, was the most popular write-in candidate, receiving nine votes. Sheila Massengill, who also lost an election bid in 2011 after having been appointed to the council, received four votes. Receiving one vote each were Mike Kissinger, Toni Pruente, Sue Taylor and Joyce Faulk.

In Freistatt, one seat on the board of trustees was open for write-in votes. Voters named a variety of past trustees as candidates.

Mike Ortwein, the outgoing mayor, who has served on the council since 2005, announced he would not run this year. He received 19 votes, and his daughter, Rose Ortwein, the only declared candidate on the ballot, had 16 votes.

Aaron Obermann had the next highest number of votes with two. Past trustees Ryan Buchmueller, Elmer Conway, Roy Obermann and Edith Harmon each had one vote, as did Alice Helmkamp and Cari Paynter.

The Verona City Council and Freistatt Village Board will decide on a procedure for approaching the write-in parties to see if any will be willing to serve, and who to accept, if any.

The Barry-Lawrence Ambulance District had a vacancy for District 1, representing rural Monett in Barry County. Dale Ball, Billie Bounous, Francis Washeck and Robert Steinberg all received one write-in vote.

According to Jeaneittia Pierce, district office manager, letters will be sent to each of those potential board members asking if they would be willing to serve.

The tabulation of write-in votes have changed the outcome of Tuesday's election in Stotts City.

Incumbent mayor Joanne Caddick, the only candidate on the ballot, appears to have lost. Emerson certified Caddick's 10 votes were topped by write-in candidate Efrain Zabala, who had 21 votes.

For the at-large alderman's seat, Stotts City voters had to fill two seats when candidate Jeffery Gibson was the only one on the ballot. Gibson received 18 votes. Write-in votes to fill the other seat were recorded for Santos Mondragon with six and Carol Estes with one vote.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.