[Monett Times] Mostly Cloudy ~ 68°F  
High: 73°F ~ Low: 47°F
Saturday, Apr. 30, 2016

MHS Student Council receives award

Friday, April 6, 2012

The Honor Council Committee of Missouri Association of Student Councils (MASC) has announced that the Monett High School Student Council has been awarded the Missouri Association of Student Councils Gold Award. Presentations were made at the annual MASC Convention held recently at Truman High School in Independence. The honor is based on an application submitted by the Monett High School Student Council. The council met the criteria as established by the Honor Council committee and the MASC Advisory Board. Councils that have a comprehensive program in promoting student activities and student leadership are honored. Activities include school service, spirit, community service, student and teacher recognition and leadership training activities. Monett High School Student Council members are pictured above. In the front row, from left, are: Emily Copening, MacKenzie Lay, Maddie Schmidt, Jordan VanLue and Kale Turner. Second row: Madeline Weber, Casey Moller, Tyler Bass, Asher George, Kurran Blamey, Caleb Denney, Ryan Saunders and Matt Bowsher. Third row: Hayley Long, Morgan Spilman, Jerica Wiseman, Sophie Fulton, Carley Tilley, Jade Ingle, Blake Spain, Garrett Craig, Jarrett Johnson and Wesley Kilgore. Student body officers are: VanLue, president; Lay, vice president; Schmidt, secretary; and Turner, treasurer. Advisors are Pam Schmidt and Marlena Heimer. Student council members not pictured are: Reese Bounous, Kendall Bounous and Josi Chavez.

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.