[Monett Times] Fair ~ 52°F  
High: 70°F ~ Low: 47°F
Wednesday, May 4, 2016

Filings close for primary

Thursday, March 29, 2012

Over a dozen candidates have filed for Barry County office in the upcoming primary election, which will be held on Aug. 7. The Democratic ticket attracted two candidates, and 13 candidates signed up to run on the Republican ticket.

Incumbents Sherry Sears, county assessor, and Jim Fohn, county coroner filed for new four-year terms. They are both running unopposed on the Republican ticket.

Wayne Hendrix, southern county commissioner, also filed for re-election. Hendrix is running on the Democratic ticket. Gary D. Davis, of Cassville, has announced candidacy for the southern county commissioner seat on the Republican ticket.

The race for an open northern county commissioner seat has attracted six Republican candidates. They are: David Redshaw, of Purdy; Gary Schad, of Purdy; Eddie Dummit, of Verona; Tom Hutchens, of Monett; Duane Kaiser, of Monett; and Machelle Vanderpool, of Purdy.

The sheriff and public administrator positions have also attracted multiple candidates.

Pam Modlin, of Purdy, will face off against Stormy Holtzman, of Cassville, for public administrator, and Mick Epperly will be challenged by David Bowman, of Cassville, for sheriff. They are all running on the Republican ticket.

Randell L. Munday has announced candidacy for sheriff on the Democratic ticket.

Lawrence County

Three major contests emerged for offices in Lawrence County with the closing of filings for the Aug. 7 primary on Tuesday.

The biggest field emerged for the job of western commissioner. Four-term incumbent Rodney Barnes chose not to run for another term. Eight Republicans and one Democrat filed to run.

Republicans who filed include Derf Eukel, Rick Johnson, David Botts, Johnny Spencer, Jason Massie, Don Spradling and Rick Taylor. William Gerald Malan, of Pierce City, was the only Democrat to file.

The job of sheriff attracted three candidates in addition to incumbent Brad DeLay, who filed for a second four-year term. Challenging DeLay are Rick Abney and Stacy Paulsen for the Republican nomination. Clinton J. Danforth filed to run as a Democrat.

The post of eastern commissioner attracted a race between one-term incumbent and former presiding commissioner Joe Ruscha and Roger Stolting.

Incumbents were the only ones to file for three positions. Running unopposed are two-term public administrator Pam Miesweinkel Fobair, two-term incumbent assessor Doug Bowerman and one-term incumbent coroner Scott Lakin.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.