[Monett Times] Fair ~ 79°F  
High: 79°F ~ Low: 55°F
Saturday, Sep. 24, 2016

MV attorney named to state commission

Friday, January 6, 2012

Mt. Vernon attorney John Cowherd has been named by Governor Jay Nixon to the Missouri Water Commission.

The Missouri Water Commission is a seven-member citizen's board appointed by the governor and confirmed by the State Senate. The mission of the commission is to conserve water in the state, protect, maintain and improve water quality for public supplies and those used for domestic, agricultural, industrial and recreational purposes.

Cowherd succeeds William Easley Jr., of Cassville, on the commission. The appointment of Cowherd, a Republican, continues a mix of party representatives with three Republicans and four Democrats on the commission.

Also serving are: Jan Tupper, of Joplin; Todd Parnell, of Springfield; Dennis Wood, of Kimberling City; Wallis Warren, of Beaufort; Sam Leake, of Perry; and Dr. Samuel Hunter, of Sikeston.

Members must represent the general interest of the public and have knowledge of conservation and the effects and control of water contaminants.

Cowherd has a private law practice in Mt. Vernon and serves as a bar examiner for the Missouri Supreme Court Board of Bar Examiners. He has a bachelor of science degree in agricultural economics as well as his law degree from the University of Missouri. His appointment runs through April 12, 2014.

The MissouriWater Commission adopts regulations and policies to carry out planning, monitoring, permitting, enforcement and grant assistance to carry out the objectives of the federal Clean Water Law. Permit issues and staff decisions can be appealed to the commission.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.