[Monett Times] Fair ~ 43°F  
High: 71°F ~ Low: 55°F
Thursday, May 5, 2016

Filings slim on first day

Wednesday, December 14, 2011

Filings opened on Tuesday for local municipal and school board races that voters will decided on April 3, 2012.

In the Monett R-1 School District, two candidates filed on the first day for the open seats. Dr. J.D. Roberts, a two-term incumbent and current school board president, filed for re-election. Also filing is Monett pharmacist Andrew James "A.J." Bahl, a first-time candidate.

The other open seat is presently held by two-term incumbent Mark Coatney.

The Monett municipal election will be determined on April 3, 2012. Filings have already closed due to the scheduled Feb. 7, 2012, primary, which will not change the number of candidates in April.

Two-term mayor James Orr is running against Dennis Murphy. For city commissioner, Stephen Schoen and incumbents Mike Brownsberger and Jerry Dierker are running.

In Pierce City, Mayor Allan Stockton has filed for a second term. Also filing on the first day were two-term incumbent Scott Wahl in Ward 2 and incumbent Dana Stanphill, who was elected to a one-year term last April and will be seeking her first two-year term.

Other seats open are presently held by John Archer, who has represented Ward 1 for three terms, and nine-year incumbent Cory Sooter in Ward Four, who won a one-year term last April.

In the Pierce City R-6 School District, Michael Blinzler, a two-term incumbent who has been off the board for six years, was the only candidate to file.

The two open seats are presently held by three-term incumbent Fred Slagle and one-term incumbent Mike Zebert.

There was one first day filing for city council in Purdy. Former alderman Ron Gray filed to represent Ward 1. The seat is presently held by two-term incumbent Rex Coffey. The Ward 2 seat, which is also open, is presently held by two-term incumbent Ken Real.

There were no first day filings for the Purdy R-2 Board of Education. Seats are currently held by Randy Henderson, three-term incumbent and current board chairman, and one-term incumbent Ken Terry.

In Freistatt, no filings were made on the first day. Mayor Mike Ortwein announced he needed a break from the Board of Trustees and will not run. One-term incumbent Ryan Buchmueller holds the other open seat.

In Verona, there were no first day filings for the R-7 Board of Education. Board seats up for re-election are currently held by Donnie Craft, eight-term incumbent and school board president, and three-term incumbent Gary Wolf.

There were also no filings for city offices in Verona. The open seats are presently held by one-term incumbent George Strawn and Barbara Allen, who is completing a one-year term.

Filings close on Jan. 17, 2012.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.