[Monett Times] Fair ~ 50°F  
High: 78°F ~ Low: 58°F
Friday, May 6, 2016

Several MHS Cubs named to All-Big 8 team

Thursday, November 3, 2011

A host of Monett Cubs have been named to the All-Big 8 Conference football team for the 2011 season.

Leading the list of honored players are senior Jared Childress, center, junior Kurran Blamey, wide receiver, and senior Matt Schifner, tight end, who were all named to the All-Big 8 first team.

Monett players named to the second team All-Big 8 list were: junior Aaron Hall, running back; senior Jeff Craft, tackle; senior Tyler Green, wide receiver; senior Carter Huffmaster, line backer; junior Matt Murphy, line backer; and junior Blamey, return specialist.

Honorable mention selections for Monett were: junior Reese Bounous, tackle and defensive end; senior Green, all-purpose; senior Craft, defensive tackle; and junior Zach Swearingen, defensive back.

The rest of the list

A complete list of All-Big 8 honors is listed below minus the Monett players listed above.

First team: senior Ricky Nichols, Cassville quarterback; senior Everett Basham, Aurora, running back and linebacker; senior Markell White, Lamar, running back and return specialist; Kyle Brattin, Cassville, running back (unanimous choice); Nichols, Cassville, quarterback (unanimous choice); junior Austin Boice, offensive tackle; senior A.J. Eaves, Lamar: junior Jalon Skaggs, Seneca, wide receiver and defensive back; senior Brett Campbell, Lamar, all purpose back; senior Lucas Guthrie, Aurora, defensive end; senior Justin Pflug, Cassville, defensive end; senior Zakk Yokley, Lamar, defensive tackle senior Jesse Galloway, Aurora, defensive tackle; junior Jade Morgan, Lamar, linebacker; senior Dalton Lindsey, Seneca, linebacker; junior Shane Williams, defensive back senior Josh Lannum, offensive tackle; senior Trey Rose, Cassville, wide receiver and defensive back (unanimous choice); senior Garrett Barnes, Cassville, kicker; senior Stanton Stringer, linebacker (unanimous choice); junior Garrett Kirk, Cassville, defensive back; and junior Stone Phelps, Cassville, punter.

Second team: sophomore Levi Peterson, Lamar, quarterback; junior Shane Williams, Mt. Vernon, running back and kicker; junior Marty Mailes, Seneca, running back; senior Jacob Wall, Carl Junction, offensive tackle and defensive end; senior Lucas Guthrie, Aurora, offensive tackle; junior Drew Henbest, Cassville, defensive tackle; junior Cody Frana, Cassville, linebacker; sophomore Hayden Prater, Cassville, linebacker senior Jacob Haskins, Lamar, offensive guard; senior Tyler Hough, Carl Junction, center; senior; senior Cedric Gartman, Lamar, wide receiver; junior J. Thomas, Carl Junction, wide receiver; junior Kyler Ng, Seneca, wide receiver; sophomore Sam Bailey, Lamar, tight end; sophomore JT Tucker, Lamar, defensive end; senior John Hansen, East Newton, defensive end; junior Montana Cooper, Seneca, defensive tackle; senior Michael Helms, Aurora, linebacker; senior Jaron McCully, East Newton, defensive back; senior Cory Lear, Lamar, defensive back; sophomore Jared Beshore, Lamar, defensive back; junior Kurt Hadlow, Aurora, defensive back; and senior Dalton Bailey, Lamar, senior.Honorable mention: junior Clayton Sumners, Aurora, quarterback; senior Jaron McCully, East Newton, running back; sophomore Jared Beshore, Lamar running back; sophomore Ben Bailey, Lamar, offensive tackle; junior Chris Dunker, Cassville, running back; junior Josh Carlton, Cassville, offensive guard; and junior Jake Sizemore, Cassville, defensive tackle; junior Tyler Richardson, Mt. Vernon, offensive tackle; junior Brett Roark, Seneca, offensive tackle; junior Josh McCulloch, Aurora, offensive tackle; sophomore Mac Yust, Seneca, offensive guad; senior Gus Werries, East Newton, center; junior Drew Parker, Aurora, wide receiver; junior Jordan Fronabarger, Aurora, wide receiver; senior Zack Keckler, Aurora, tight end; freshman Colby Thomas, East Newton, kicker; sophomore Calvin Bremmerkamp, Carl Junction, linebacker; senior Ammon Allphin, East Newton, linebacker; junior Chad Rice, Lamar, linebacker; senior Trevor Sill, Seneca, defensive back; junior Marty Mailes, Seneca, defensive back; senior Matt Magee, Carl Junction, defensive back; senior Manuel Rios, Aurora, punter; and junior Shane Williams, Mt. Vernon, return specialist.
Nichols, of Cassville, was tapped as the 2011 Offensive Player of the Year, and senior Pflug, of Cassville, and senior Yokley, of Lamar, were named Co-Defensive Players of the Year.

Cassville Wildcats head coach David Large also was honored as Big 8 Coach of the Year after his squad went 7-0 in the Big 8 to win the championship.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.