[Monett Times] Overcast ~ 50°F  
High: 67°F ~ Low: 46°F
Monday, May 2, 2016

Lawrence County added to state disaster list by governor

Wednesday, June 22, 2011

JEFFERSON CITY (AP)----Residents and households in three more Missouri counties hit by severe weather since mid-April are now eligible for federal disaster assistance.

The declaration for Carter, Lawrence and Wayne counties means qualifying residents can seek federal help for uninsured losses and expenses including temporary housing, home repair and replacement of household items.

Tuesday's declaration brings to 25 the number of Missouri counties designated for individual disaster assistance for damage and losses from floods, tornadoes and severe storms that have hit the state since April 19.

The designation allows county and local governments to seek assistance for response and recovery costs from severe weather.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.