[Monett Times] Fair ~ 66°F  
High: 71°F ~ Low: 47°F
Wednesday, May 4, 2016

University News

Wednesday, June 15, 2011

Central Methodist University in Fayette recognized students during commencement activities held on May 7 for their outstanding achievements. Megan Elizabeth Welker, daughter of Amy Welker, of Aurora, received the William Randolph Hearst Education Scholar award.

Lucas Galey, of Golden, was recently recognized for outstanding academic accomplishments by being named to the LeTourneau University Dean's List for the spring 2011 semester.

Galey achieved a grade point average between 3.5 and 3.99 for the semester.

LeTourneau University is a nationally recognized interdenominational Christian university based in Longview, Texas.

A total of 652 students made the 2011 spring honor rolls at Oklahoma Christian University in Oklahoma City. Of that number, 225 are on the President's Honor Roll. The President's List honors those with a 4.0 grade point average. Among the students listed was Teaven L. Taylor, of Mt. Vernon.

Emily Kime, of Monett, has been named the 2011 Distinguished Scholar in Social Work at William Woods University in Fulton.

The faculty of various disciplines at William Woods have the opportunity each spring to designate one graduating senior as a Distinguished Scholar. A minimum grade point average of 3.4 is required, but the faculty may consider other relevant academic factors and variables in the selection process.

More than 800 students graduated from Rockhurst University, in Kansas City on May 14.

Among the students was Allison L. Schmitz, of Monett. She received her masters degree in occupational therapy.

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.