[Monett Times] Fair ~ 75°F  
High: 83°F ~ Low: 64°F
Wednesday, May 25, 2016

Territory represented by east, west Lawrence Co. commissioners changed

Friday, June 3, 2011

The Lawrence County Commission has moved the boundariies that will be represented by the eastern and western commissioners. The change was prompted by the 2010 federal census.

Commissioners redrew the boundaries to divide the county's population as evenly as possible within the existing townships. The major change moves Freistatt from the western territory to the eastern.

According to County Clerk Gary Emerson, Western Commissioner Rodney Barnes proposed moving Hoberg, with a population of 719, to the east, instead of Freistatt, with a population of 549. a different solution than what was finally adopted.

The following townships will be assigned to the eastern district: Aurora, Buck Prairie, Ozark, Spring River, Turnback and Freistatt. The western district will contain the following townships: Green, Hoberg, Lincoln, Mt. Pleasant, Mt. Vernon, Pierce, Red Oak and Vineyard.

The eastern territory has 19,296, up from the old boundaries of 17,532. The new western territory has a population of 19,338, up for the 2000 borders of 17,616 people. The adopted boundaries reflect a difference of 42 people, compared to Barnes' proposal, which had a difference of 298 people.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.