[Monett Times] Fair ~ 54°F  
High: 68°F ~ Low: 43°F
Tuesday, May 3, 2016

R-1 reorganizes, retains leadership

Wednesday, April 13, 2011

The Monett R-1 Board of Education retained its top leaders and made several personnel changes at its reorganizational meeting on Monday.

Two-term incumbent David Beckett and newly elected board members Darren Bass and Ken Gaspar took the oath of office from Board Secretary Patty Leach. The new board then elected J.D. Roberts as its chairman for the second year and kept Mark Coatney as vice president.

Beckett and Doug Childress were named as the board's new representatives on the Monett Tax Increment Financing (TIF) Commission. Rod Anderson and Scott Beckwith, the former TIF representatives, did not seek re-election.

Roberts read a letter from Anderson, who attended a meeting of the Missouri Southern State University Board of Regents instead. Anderson said that except for this week's session, he had not missed a Monett School Board meeting in 15 years.

"You join a group of leaders and winners," Anderson wrote to the new board members. "I thank the community for allowing me to serve."

"For the newbies, you're going to learn why this is called the 'board of education,' because you're going to get an education," Beckwith said. "I enjoyed serving. Keep the cohesive quality of the board. I understand we have one of the best in the area."

Both Anderson and Beckwith received tokens of appreciation from the board for their service.

Board members voted to retain Leach as board secretary and Linda Lines as board treasurer for the coming year.

Personnel action

The board accepted a letter of retirement from David Botts, who has been with the district since 1987. Botts began as a drafting instructor then became a vocational counselor at the Southwest Area Career Center. He has worked for the last two years as the Delta instructor for at-risk students.

Resignations were also accepted from Dee Crockett, high school science teacher, Karen Linehan, English language learners teacher at Monett Elementary School, and Rachel Jackson and Kristy Sickles, both special education teachers at Central Park Elementary.

Five new teachers were hired:

* Amber Mashburn will fill a teaching position at Monett Elementary. This will be Mashburn's first teaching job as a recent graduate of College of the Ozarks. She is a resident of Marshfield.

* Morgan Mais, a recent Drury University graduate, was hired for a Monett Elementary teaching post. Mais attended Monett Elementary as a child. Her mother, Jacquie Mais, had worked as assistant principal at Monett Elementary and Central Park Elementary before retiring.

* Melissa Faucett was hired for a teaching job at Monett Elementary. Faucett is a recent Drury University graduate from Mt. Vernon.

* Amanda Hilburn, from Cassville, was hired at Monett Intermediate School. Hilburn is graduating from Missouri Southern State University.

* Kimberly Shelton was hired as a special education teacher. A resident of Monett, Shelton has been working at the Jasper School District for the past two years and worked for five years as a special education teacher at the school district in Bismarck. She is a graduate of Central Methodist University.

The board will next meet at 6 p.m. on April 21 at the superintendent's office.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.