[Monett Times] Fair ~ 46°F  
High: 78°F ~ Low: 55°F
Friday, May 6, 2016

Voters head to the polls Tuesday

Friday, April 1, 2011

Voters in Lawrence County will fill a wide range of city council and school board seats in Tuesday's election.

School districts

Monett R-1: Three seats are open on the Monett School Board. Former board president and two-term incumbent David Beckett is running with Darren Bass and Ken Gaspar, both of whom ran last year, and first-time candidate Paul Bricker.

Pierce City R-6: Six candidates are seeking the three seats on the Pierce City School Board. Four-term incumbent James Barchak and one-term incumbent David Jones lead a field that includes five-time candidate Hollis Webb, previous candidate Greg Drollinger and first-time candidates Lisa Abramovitz Cameron and Doug Chapman.

Verona R-7: Six candidates are seeking the three openings on the Verona School Board. Nine-term incumbent Roger Bandy, former city council member DeDe Hutson and first-time candidates Louis Carrasquillo, Ed Kristek, Richard Werner and Mary Hesemann are in the race.

Aurora R-8: Four candidates filed for the three Aurora School Board seats. Three-term incumbents Scott Welch and Don Sparks lead a field that includes one-term incumbent Mark McCully, who also has previous service on the board, and Melanie Houser Mayberry, who ran last year.

Marionville R-9: Five are seeking the three open seats on the Marionville School Board. Four-term incumbent Kay Kerans and three-term incumbent Chris Murphy head a field that includes Matt Schmidt, who ran last year, and first-time candidates Kevin Blane Inmon and Jacquie Mais.

Miller R-2: Six people are seeking the three open seats on the Miller School Board, where at least one new person will be elected. Candidates include four-term incumbent Chad Hill, one-term incumbent Mark Harrington and first-time candidates Jimmy Parnell, L. Allen Tennis, Erika Sexton and Scott Jack.

Mt. Vernon R-5: A change is also in the offering in the Mt. Vernon School District. Running for the three open seats are: Gene Ingle, who has served on the board for 29 years; Ron Schmidly, who has served for 21 years; Cortney Hurn; and Paul Brockman.

City races

Pierce City: Two open seats may be filled by voters for the city council in Pierce City on Tuesday. A write-in candidate may emerge to fill the Ward 1 alderman's seat, where no one filed to fill the seat that David Jones has held for the last eight years.

In Ward 2, incumbent Brian Jones, serving by appointment after three previous years of service, is being challenged by first-time candidate April Ottavian.

Running unopposed in Ward 3 are Dana Stanphill for the one-year seat and Melissa Creed for the two-year seat. In Ward 4, four-term incumbent Cory Sooter is unopposed for the one-year seat. Brandon Raley has no opposition to keep his seat for two more years.

Verona: Three candidates are in the race for the two two-year seats on the Verona City Council. Two-term incumbent Matt Pruente, one-year incumbent Gary Welters and former alderman Willis Hutson are running.

Appointee Sheila Massengill and first-time candidate Barbara Allen are seeking the one-year seat.

Mayor Lloyd Airrington is unopposed in his bid for re-election.

Freistatt: There are no races in Freistatt, where three candidates filed for the open Village Board of Trustees seats. Former one-term trustee Delpha Bowling is running with one-term incumbent Eva Jobe and first-time candidate Robert Brandt.

Aurora: There are four candidates for three seats on the Aurora City Council though five are listed on the ballot. Darlene Hedrick Moore, appointed to fill the seat vacated by Steve Kahre, recently moved outside the city after the ballots had been printed. Aldermen will appoint someone to fill the seat if Moore wins.

Dan Broyles, multi-term alderman and past mayor, is running for another term, along with Eddie Breeding, who is running for the fourth consecutive year, and first-time candidates Steve Ramirez and Linda Barton. Terms in Aurora run for three years.

Marionville: Races developed in two of the four wards in Marionville.

In Ward 1, two-term incumbent Daniel Clevenger is challenged by Gina Stringer.

In Ward 3, the two-year seat is up between five-term incumbent Kay Leffingwell, who lost last year, and first-time candidate Jessica Wilson.

The other Ward 3 seat will be filled by Jeff Schatz, who was appointed to fill Bob Duta's seat when Duta won the mayor's job last year. Schatz decided to run for a one-year term, and he is unopposed.

Miller: Five people are running for the two open seats on the Miller City Council. Kerry Johnson, a five-term incumbent, and Bill Jones, a two-term incumbent, are running with first-time candidates Chuck Evans, Dena Pace and Josh Harris.

Mt. Vernon: No races developed in Mt. Vernon. Running are three-term incumbent James Green in Ward 1; one-term incumbent Gary Albers in Ward 2; five-term incumbent Max Springer in Ward 3; and three-term incumber John Hull in Ward 4.

Stotts City: Incumbents Rodney White and Vicky Stearns are running for the two city council seats in Stotts City. Collector Cheryl Reynolds is also unopposed.

Other races

Voters in the Freistatt Special Road District are asked to renew a 35-cent property tax levy to continue services at the same level.

Two road districts have contested races for commissioners. In the Mt. Vernon Benefit Special Road District, James Schmitt and Bob Misemer are running. In the Green Benefit Special Road District, Robert Calvin and Randee Schwartz-Locke are seeking the open seat.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.