[Monett Times] Mostly Cloudy ~ 73°F  
High: 84°F ~ Low: 64°F
Wednesday, May 25, 2016

Youth wrestling tournament a big success

Friday, February 4, 2011

Working hard for a takedown. Monett's Matthew Bahl works to take down a wrestler during Saturday's 25th annual Monett Youth Wrestling Tournament. [Photo by Nancy Noll-Meyer]
The Monett Youth Wrestling Club hosted its 25th annual Monett Youth Wrestling Tournament on Saturday.

Nearly 400 wrestlers representing 21 clubs from across Missouri and Arkansas took part in this open tournament including wrestlers from the Monett youth club of those 30 placed.

Those winning championships for the Cubs were: Elias Barrientos, division 2, 65 pounds; Ethan Umfleet, division 2, 65 pounds; Cole Davis, division 2, 70 pounds; Junior Villa, division 2, 80 pounds; Wesley Merriman, division 2, 100 pounds; Mathew Bahl, division 3, 55 pounds; Hunter Pyle, division 3, 110 pounds; Kedric Brink, division 5, 115 pounds; Dominick Witherow, division 5, 140 pounds; Wesley Abramovitz, division 5, 145 pounds; and Michael Vincent, division 5, 175 pounds.

Placing second for the Monett were: Harrison Merriman, division 1, 75 pounds; Joseph Semerad, division 2, 60 pounds; Spencer Bryand, division 2, 65 pounds; Gunnar Bradley, division 3, 65 pounds; Josh Bahl, division 3, 70 pounds; Wesley Merriman, division 3, 100 pounds; Brody Crawford, division 4, 75 pounds; Sean Jastal, division 4, 90 pounds; and Wyatt Rook, division 5, 135 pounds.

Taking third place honors for the Cubs were: Keller Snodgrass, division 1, 75 pounds; Mathew Bahl, division 2, 55 pounds; Blaine Garver, division 2, 65 pounds; Tanner Wright, division 2, 70 pounds; Joseph Semerad, division 3, 60 pounds; and Aaron Beeson, division 4, 90 pounds.

Others placing for Monett were: Ian Jackson, fourth, division 2, 80 pounds; Karter Brink, sixth, division 3, 60 pounds; Jace Stowe, fifth, division 3, 60 pounds; Jorden Henson, fourth, division 4, 125 pounds; and Ben Cole, fourth, Division 4, 175 pounds.

Also participating for Monett were: Riley Dierker, Alyson Massardo, Isaac Henley, Zac McAllister, Dominick Floyd, Adryan Bello, Mason Turben, Justin Williams, Samuel Jordan, Ben Verstraete, Clayton Cordova, Caleb Hall, Carlos Cordova, Jaron Beeson, Keanu Reed, Garret Bradley, and Ben Morris.

The Monett Youth Wrestling Club would like to thank all parents, coaches and volunteers for making the Monett tournament one of the best in the state. The club also thanks all of our sponsors for supporting Monett athletics.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.