[Monett Times] Partly Cloudy ~ 63°F  
High: 83°F ~ Low: 63°F
Friday, Sep. 19, 2014

Monett High School hosts fall sport banquet

Friday, November 19, 2010

Monett High School held its annual awards ceremony Tuesday night.

Monett athletes and their families were treaed to a catered meal sponsored by the Monett Athletic Booster Club.

Six fall sports were recognized during the event.

The evening was highlighted by recognition of 26 four-year participants, introduction of the Big 8 All-Conference selections and individual team recognition awards.


The Monett Lady Cubs tennis team finished the season as the Big 8 conference and district champions.

Monett Lady Cubs Tennis Coach Bob Crain was named Big 8 Conference Coach of the Year.

Four-year letter winners were: Nrupa Desai, Carrie Robbins, Kerry Tinklepaugh, Katelyn Sperandio and Theresa Mangler.

Individual tennis team award recipients were:

* Most Valuable Player: Carrie Robbins.

* Most Dedicated Player: Kerry Tinklepaugh.

* Most Determined Players: Nrupa Desai, Katelyn Sperandio and Theresa Mangler.

* Most Improved Player: Darian Shields.

* Team Spirit Award: Kayla Wormington.


Four-year letter winners were: Jenny Frazier, Madison Carlin and Amanda McKinney.

Hunter Glouse was named to the first team All-Conference team, All-District, Region and State second teams. Elise Meyer was named to the second team All-Conference. Maddie Schmidt was an All-Conference Honorable Mention.

Individual volleyball awards recipients were:

* Hitting percentage (.244%): Hunter Glouse.

* Most assists (275): Madison Carlin.

* Serving percentage (96%): Madison Schmidt, Madison Carlin, Hunter Glouse and Mackenzie Lay.

* Most Blocks (58): Hunter Glouse.

* Most Kills (245): Hunter Glouse.

* Most Aces (42): Elise Meyer.

* Most Digs (322): Amanda McKinney.

* Cub Award: Jenny Frazier.

* JV Cub Award: Faith Schmidt

* Freshman Cub Award: Skylar Pinkley.

Cross Country

Monett's cross country team sent four runners to the state meet this year and enjoyed another fine season.

Four-year award winner was Hannah Martin.

Individual cross country award winners were:

* Top boys runner: Chris Renteria.

* Top girls runner: Hannah Martin.

* Most Inspirational: Bill Townsend.

* Most Improved Runner: Michael Morley.


Four-year award recipients were: Abraham Mejia, Pedro Almaraz and Billy Storkson.

Pedro Almaraz and Abraham Mejia were named first team All- District. Freddy Lopez, Ricardo Ortega and Travis Thompson were named second team All-District, respectively.

Individual soccer award winners were:

* Junior Varsity MVP: Nick Forbis.

* Cub Award (Hustle): Travis Thompson.

* Most Improved Player: Jorge Aceves.

* Defensive Player of the Year: Freddy Lopez.

* Offensive Player of the Year: Travis Thompson.

* Most Valuable Player: Abraham Mejia.


Four-year award recipients were: Anna Arnaud, Avery Bounous, Paige Marney, Logan Swope and Katie Upchurch.

Raigan Ratliff (outfielder) was named All-Conference, All-District and All-Region first team as an outfielder. Paige Marney (pitcher) was named to the All-Conference and All-District first teams. Kelsey Wiseman (first base) was named to the first team All-District and second team All-Conference. Josee Krueger (third base) was named to the first team All-District and was All-Conference honorable mention. Avery Bounous (outfield) was named to the All-Conference and All-district second team. Andrea Soriano (catcher) was named to the All-Conference and All-Distrcit second team.

Individual softball team awards were:

* Defensive Players of the Year: Josee Krueger and Kelsey Wiseman.

* Offensive Player of Year: Raigan Ratliff.

* Lady Cub Award: Avery Bounous.

* Team MVP: Paige Marney.

* Most Hits (44): Raigan Ratliff.

* Most Stolen Bases (23): Raigan Ratliff.

* Most RBI (21): Avery Bounous and Andrea Soriano.

* Highest Batting Average (.436): Raigan Ratliff.

The Lady Cubs softball team broke several single season and career records this season. They were:

* At Bats (101): Raigan Ratliff

* Hits (44): Raigan Ratliff.

* Doubles (44): Kelsey Wiseman.

* Home Runs (2): Avery Bounous.

* Runs Scored (31): Raigan Ratliff.

* Stolen Bases (23): Raigan Ratliff.

Monett Lady Cubs softball career records broken:

* Doubles (18): Logan Swope.

* Wins (40): Paige Marney.

* Innings Pitched (495.6): Paige Marney.


Four-year award recipients were: Marcus Enloe, Ethan Davis, Chris Eimer, Tristian Honfeldt, Travis Wormington, Kyle Doss, Jacob Childress and Ryne Johnson.

Individual team award recipients were:

* Outstanding D-lineman: Jeff Craft and Reece Bounous.

* Outstanding O-Lineman: Ryne Johnson and Kyle Doss.

* Outstanding Defensive Back: Marcus Enloe.

* Outstanding WR: Chris Eimer.

* Outstanding LB: Carter Huffmaster.

* Outstanding Offensive Back: Aaron Hall.

* Outstanding Special Teams Player: Broc Wolfe.

* Outstanding Practice Player: Kyle Woods.

* Mr. Cub Award: Jacob Childress and Tristan Homfeldt.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration. If you already have an account on this site, enter your username and password below. Otherwise, click here to register.


Password:  (Forgot your password?)

Your comments:
Please be respectful of others and try to stay on topic.

© 2014 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.