[Monett Times] Overcast ~ 52°F  
High: 62°F ~ Low: 45°F
Monday, May 2, 2016

Monett Speedway was busy last Sunday night

Wednesday, September 8, 2010

With only one more weekend of races scheduled for the season at the Monett Speedway, racing fans had a full dose of action on Sept. 5 for the 39th annual Four-state Dirt Track Championship and the Mid-American Stock Car (MARS) Late Model races.

In the Rookie division, Clayton Powell dominated the field, winning both the preliminary heat and the feature race. Benny Foster and John Beard finished right behind in both races. Charles Hooper gained a slot to take fourth in the feature while Tim Murphy clawed his way up from eighth place to finish in fifth in the feature.

In the Bomber division, John Coats rebounded from a third place finish in the heat to win the feature. Nick Whitehead took second in both races. Bill Schoen dropped from first in the heat to third in the feature. Jack Hammer clinched fourth in both races. Garrett Essary climbed out of last place in the heat to claim fifth in the feature.

It took two heats to prep for the feature in the Pro-4's division. Kris Schudy claimed first in one of the heats and won the feature. Cameron Smith gained a slot to take second in the feature. Dennis Widener dropped a place to take third in the feature. Randy Roberts won his heat but settled for fourth in the feature. Bob Widener ended up in fifth in both races.

Three heats preceded thefeature race in the A-modifieds division. Johnny Bone Jr. continued to be the man to beat, winning both his heat and the feature race. Jesse Stovall and Jason Meadors took second and third after finishing back to back at the top of the first heat. Bobby Pearish took fourth after a second place preliminary finish. Jeremy Ramussen took fifth, three down from his initial run.

Two heats also preceded the 18-car dash for the checkered flag in the B-Modifieds race. JC Morton held his ground to take first in both his races, right ahead of Matt Thompson, who was second in both. Steve Muilenburg finished third in both his races. Don Luna won a heat but settled for fourth in the feature. Billy Dalton took fifth, down two slots from his preliminary finish.

In the MARS Dirtcar series, 22 cars competed in the Late Model division feature race after five heats. Terry Phillips won his heat and the feature. John Anderson took second after winning his heat. Brad Looney took third, a slot down from his preliminary finish. Justin Wells and Jeremy Payne finished back to back at the top of their heat and took fourth and fifth in the feature.

The season at Monett Speedway officially concludes on Sunday, Sept. 26 for the Show Me Late Models. Hot laps are at 7 p.m. with races beginning at 7:30 p.m.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.