[Monett Times] Mostly Cloudy ~ 57°F  
High: 65°F ~ Low: 41°F
Sunday, May 1, 2016

Car enthusiasts show off their rides

Friday, August 27, 2010

This 2009 Shelby GT 500 Ford Mustang, owned by Jon James, of Fort Leonard Wood, was one of the first place winners in this year's annual Howdy Neighbor Days Car Show, held Saturday. [Times Photo by Melonie Roberts]
Winners have been named in the 22nd annual Pierce City Car Show held in conjunction with Howdy Neighbor Days on Aug. 21.

First place winners included:

Wayne Bruffey, of Everton, 1956 Chevrolet Bel Air; Terry and Cathy Clendening, of Springfield, 1950 Chevy truck; Roger Eberle, of Neosho, 1939 Ford Coupe; Doug and Denise Sharp, of Kansas City, 1965 Cobra.

John Verbruagge, of Eagle Rock, 2008 Mustang KR; Linda Woods, of Aurora, 1999 Mustang GT; Jim and Lucille Weston, of Stella, 1964 Chevy C-10 pickup; Charles Pritchett, of Marionville, 1980 Corvette.

Jon James, of Fort Leonard Wood, 2009 Shelby Mustang; Dave Walters, of Shell Knob, 1927 Ford Roadster; John Dorman, of Joplin, 2004 Corvette; Mike Martin, of Clever, 1941 Ford Delivery.

Susan and Gary Hoxie, of Neosho, 1965 Ford Mustang; Gary Neal, of Carl Junction, 1922 T-bucket; Roger Bandy, of Verona, 1968 Corvette; Ken Bandy, of Monett, 1969 Corvette; Jim Schooley, of Baxter Springs, Kan., 2006 Corvette.

Jack and Chris Phillips, of Billings, 1969 Firebird; Rodney Whorton, of Neosho, 1966 Ford Mustang; Joe Shipman, of Monett, 1990 Corvette; Charles Crawford, of Neosho, 1957 Chevy Bel Air; Dan Copenhaver, of Mt. Vernon, 2004 Mustang.

Norbert and Rosemary Lehar, of Neosho, 1997 Corvette; Tom Cole, of Granby, 1967 Ford Galaxy; Paul and Lindsey Jasumback, of Wentworth, 1954 Ford F-100; Gene Herndon, of Springfield, 2009 Mustang convertible; Joe Jones, of Monett, 1967 Mustang; Barbara Russell, of Carthage, 2004 Corvette; John Calvelage, of Springfield, 1967 Camaro RS and Gary Farris, of Wentworth, 1966 Chevy Nova.

Second place winners were:

Cliff Wood, of Seneca, 1992 Dodge truck; Josh Golubski, of Pierce City, 1967 ranch wagon; Carolyn Meadors, of Republic, 1957 Ford T-bird; Nick and Karen Couch, of Diamond, 2000 Corvette; Lyn Brock, of Pierce City, 2008 Ford Mustang.

Merlin Hintz, of Joplin, 1969 Coupe Deville; Pat Price, of Galena, Kan., 2000 Corvette; Lawrence Bartlett, of Monett, 1958 Corvette; Eli Daoud, of Sarcoxie, 1969 Chevy truck; Don Craighead, of Republic, 1976 Cosworth Vega.

Pat Wagner, of Pierce City, 1972 Chevy truck; Chester Pendergraft, of Carthage, 1923 T-bucket; Jerry and Jo Sams, of Neosho, 1962 T-bird; Lonnie Sites, of Neosho, 1963 T-bird.

Harvey Imbau, of Neosho, 1964 Mustang; Carl Smith, no city listed, 1975 Corvette; Jerry Prock, of Phillipsburg, 1991 Chevy Z-24; David and Theresa Cochrane, of Aurora, 1948 Mercury Coupe.

Charlie Scott, of Coffeyville, Kan., 1965 Ford T-bird; John Russell, of Joplin, 1980 Corvette; Jim Grube, no city listed, 1956 Nash Metropolitan; Billy Stanley, of Pierce City, 2004 Dodge Neon; Hubert Allred, of Granby, 1963 Mercury Comet convertible.

Wayne Sooter, of Pierce City, 1983 Chevy Impala and a 1964 Impala; Tim Murphy, of Granby, 1967 Mercury Cougar; Russell Sage, of Lockwood, 1964 F-100 and Spencer Severs, of Stella, 1965 Impala SS.

Winners of the specialty divisions were:

* Top Points Early Car: Wayne Bruffey, 1956 Bel Aire.

* Top Points Late Car: John Verbrugge, 2008 Mustang KR.

* Top Points Early Truck: Terry Clendening, 1950 Chevy truck.

* Top Points Late Truck: Cliff Wood, 1992 Dodge 4x4.

* M.A.A.C.C. Judges Award: Josh Golubski, 1967 Ford wagon.

* Lunch Money Award: Matthew Cooper, 1979 Yamaha QT 50.

* Kids Choice Award: Doug and Denise Sharp, 1966 Cobra.

* Sooter Memorial: Charlie Scott, 1965 T-bird.

* Committees Choice Award: Dave Walters, modified 1927 Roadster.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.