[Monett Times] Partly Cloudy ~ 61°F  
High: 65°F ~ Low: 41°F
Sunday, May 1, 2016

Action abounds at Monett Speedway on Monday

Monday, August 9, 2010

A full slate of races provided plenty of excitement for fans at the Monett Speedway on Sunday.

Seven racers lined up for two spins at the checkered flag in the Rookies division. Clayton Powell bettered his fourth place finish in the preliminary heat to win the feature race. Powell squeezed in ahead of Frank James, Jesse James and Lenny Coats, who finished first, second and third in the preliminary. Shawn Duncan took fifth in both races.

In a five-man Bomber race, Rusty Forrest won the heat but fell to last place in the feature race. John Coats moved up a slot to win the feature, trailed by Garrett Essary in both races. Craig Casteel moved from last to third in the feature while Willie Oxendine finished fourth in both races.

Nine racers participated in the heat and the feature in the Pro-4's division. Don Lacey moved up from third in the heat to win the feature. Darrin Widener trailed Lacey in both races and claimed second place. Bob Widener bounded from eighth place in the preliminary to third in the feature. Randy Roberts jumped from seventh to fourth. Darrell Epperson Jr. took fifth in both races.

Two heats built up to the big race for the A-Modifieds division. Jesse Stovall had his A-game in place in claim both his preliminary heat and the feature race. Johnny Bone Jr. finished third in his preliminary but advanced to second in the feature, knocking Jackie Dalton down a slot for a third place finish. Brent Holman finished behind Dalton in both races to take fourth. Brent Manning won his heat but had to settle for fifth in the feature.

Action was equally hot in the B-Modifieds division. JC Morton roared from third place in the heat to win the feature race. Erik Tenderholt won his heat then took second in the feature. Brad Moad took third in both races. Bobby Maggard Jr., a last place finisher in the preliminary, climbed up to take fourth in the feature. Matt Thompson was in fifth place.

The big finale pitted 20 racers against each other in the Late Models division after three preliminary races. Justin Wells was the big winner of the night, reversing his second place heat finish to win the feature and drop Ken Essary back to second place. Rylan Long took third place, a slot below his preliminary finish. Larry Jones and Colton Dunlap both dropped down two slots to take fourth and fifth in the feature.

Next Sunday's races will be a change of pace, featuring the United States Modified Touring Series races. Bomber, Legend, Rookie and B-Modified races are scheduled. Hot laps are at 7 p.m. Races begin at 7:30 p.m.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.