[Monett Times] Partly Cloudy ~ 45°F  
High: 65°F ~ Low: 43°F
Tuesday, May 3, 2016

Jones defeats George in race for LawCo judge

Wednesday, August 4, 2010

Voter Jessica Carsten was close to the 200th voter to cast a ballot in Pierce City Tuesday morning. Pushing her baby carriage, Carsten was one of many braving the heat early. Turnout was expected to be high with strong local interest in the Congressional race, where Pierce City native Jack Goodman was the leading candidate on the Republican ticket. [Times Photo by Murray Bishoff]
In yesterday's election, Lawrence County voters ended up closely divided on two key races. When all the votes were counted, Samuel C. Jones defeated Robert George for associate circuit judge Division II while Don Trotter edged Stacy Tomlin for the job of county prosecutor. All four ran in the Republican primary and face no Democratic opposition in November.

Associate circuit judge

Jones returns to the position he held from 1991 to 1998 by defeating George, who has served 21 years as county prosecutor, by a vote of 3,649 to 3,348, or 52 to 48 percent.

George captured his biggest margin by carrying Monett's Forest Park 324 to 248. George also carried Pierce City by 29 votes and Mt. Pleasant, north of Pierce City, by five votes, as well as Freistatt by 28 votes.

Jones carried 13 of 19 precincts, including carrying his hometown of Mt. Vernon by 131 votes. Two of Aurora's precincts went for George, but North Aurora, which historically votes the other way, switched the balance to give Jones a 29-vote win in George's hometown. The Marionville precinct went for Jones by 48 votes as did the Miller precinct by 64 votes.


Trotter won the race for county prosecutor over Aurora attorney Stacy Tomlin 3,880 to 3,044, or 56 to 44 percent. Trotter carried 15 of 19 precincts, including the Monett vote in Forest Park 407 to 170. Trotter carried the Pierce City vote by 167 and won Freistatt by 15 votes. He serves as city attorney for both communities.

Trotter's biggest margin came in carrying Mt. Vernon by 256 votes. Trotter and Tomlin tied in Aurora, each earning 727 votes. Tomlin had her best margin in the Miller precinct, winning there by 45 votes.

Circuit court clerk

Steve Kahre of Aurora carried every precinct to win a second term as circuit court clerk. In a three-way race, Kahre won 64 percent with 4,453 votes. Former incumbent Cindy Supiran had 1,633 or 24 percent while Aurora director of finance Noelle Harmon had 835 or 12 percent.

Kahre carried the Monett vote in Forest Park with 360 or 60 percent, compared to 157 for Supiran and 45 for Harmon. Kahre had 320 votes or 69 percent in Pierce City as well as 74 percent of the Freistatt vote.

Kahre won Aurora with 64 percent where Harmon came in second with 20 percent. In Mt. Vernon, Supiran's hometown, Kahre won with 67 percent and Supiran had her largest block of votes at 26 percent.

Unopposed races

Presiding County Commissioner Sam Goodman got 6,212 votes in his bid for another term. County Clerk Gary Emerson received 6,275 votes. Recorder of Deeds Pam Robertson had 6,177 votes. Collector of Revenue Kelli McVey received 6,449. Treasurer Sharon Kleine had 6,192. All are Republicans who face no opposition from Democrats in November.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.