[Monett Times] Overcast ~ 66°F  
High: 74°F ~ Low: 62°F
Friday, May 27, 2016

Seven major races provide action at Monett Speedway

Thursday, July 22, 2010

Seven major races kept racing fans entertained with action on Sunday, July 18, at the Monett Speedway.

In the Rookies division, Lennie Coats proved to have the winning strategy and duplicated the preliminary race results by also winning the feature race. Jesse James, Frank James, John Beard and Janette Murphy finished in that order in both the opening heat and in the features.

The Bombers division took two preliminary races to get all the racers lined up for the feature race. Rusty Forrest, who won the second preliminary heat, kept his edge to capture the feature race. Bob Maggard Sr., who won the other heat, took second. Willie Oxendine settled for third, behind Maggard in both the heat and in the feature. John Coats moved from last in his heat to fourth place. Matthew Thulin finished the feature in fifth.

In the Pro-4's division, the advance heat proved to be no predictor for the features race. Dwight Niehoff, who finished in the middle of the pack in the heat, dashed over the finish line first in the feature. Theresa Widener took second in both races. Darrin Widener took third in the feature after winning the preliminary race. Randy Roberts took fourth after a seventh place finish in the heat. Don Lacy advanced his car one spot to end the feature in fifth place.

Thirteen races tried their skills in the A-Modifieds race. Johnny Bone Jr. had a lock on first place for the night, capturing the checkered flag's nod on both the heat and the feature. Terry Beckham II won his heat but had to settle for second in the feature. Steve Mullenburg and Jackie Dalton finished back-to-back twice, in both the heat and in third and fourth in the feature. Erik Maggard ended the feature in fifth.

Sixteen racers turned out to try their hand in the B-Modifieds race. Colt Cheevers moved up three spots from his preliminary finish to win the feature, ahead of JC Morton, who won a heat race. Steve Mullenburg fell a slot to take third in the feature. Bobby Maggard also dropped back one position to win fourth in the feature. Eric Tenderholt, a second place heat finisher, ended the feature in fifth place.

Suspense was high for the Late Models showdown in a field of 14 racers. Justin Wells moved up one place from the preliminary race to capture the feature. Shane Essary moved from fourth in his heat to second in the feature. Ken Essary won his heat but fell to third in the feature. Chuck Comer took fourth and Darrell Mooneyham was fifth, both dropping two spots from their preliminary dashes.

The racers will be back for another round in the same divisions on Sunday. Races will begin at 7:30 p.m.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2016 Monett Times, a division of Rust Publishing MOARCASS, L.L.C. All rights reserved.